If you’ve been in a car accident recently, then you might be wondering how your car insurance rates will be affected. Most of the time, your full-coverage car insurance will go up by about 46% after you get in an accident - if you are at fault.

However, this amount can depend on several factors, such as the state you live in, whether an injury was involved (either you or someone else), your age, what kind of car you drive, accident history, and more.

Many insurance companies offer incentives for being accident-free, such as safe-driving programs and accident forgiveness. These can help keep your auto insurance rates from going up after an accident, or at least help keep the rate to a minimum.

One of the best ways to save on car insurance is to compare insurance companies, even after you get into an accident. In this guide, we will discuss how much your car insurance costs increase after an accident, and what you can do about it!

How Much Will My Auto Insurance Rates Increase After An Accident?

person counting bills

The amount your auto insurance rates increase after an accident may vary depending on what state you live in. It also depends on who was at fault. If you get into an accident and you were at fault, then your car insurance rates may go up by 46% - an increase of $1,157 on average.

People who live in Michigan are the most likely to see their rates go up the most. In some cases, car insurance rates in Michigan will double after you get into an accident. Car insurance rates are least likely to go up as much if you live in Kansas, where the average increase is only 8%.

Your rates will increase even more if there was property damage of $2,000 or more involved. According to a four-state study, car insurance rates go up by 56% if you have an accident on your driving record that involves property damage of over $2,000. The study also indicated that rates only went up 47% if the accident involved a bodily injury claim. However, that’s still quite an increase!

Keep in mind that if you are NOT at fault for an accident, then your rates probably will not increase. However, this is not always true. Some insurance companies will increase your rate if you are involved in an accident and you are not at fault. After an accident, your state’s laws greatly influence your insurance rate.

This is why it’s always best to compare insurance rate quotes. A driver who was involved in an accident may be treated differently by each insurance company. If you have an accident on your driving record, then you’ll want to go with the insurance company that treats you the best!

Examples of Accidents That Increase Your Car Insurance Rates

car accident

Some insurance companies have standards when it comes to what qualifies as an accident. Most of the time, insurance companies will want to know who was at fault for the accident. Car insurance rates are calculated so that your insurance company knows how much they need to pay if you or your car, the passengers in your car, and others are injured in an accident. They also still want to make money from the services they provide.

Insurance companies know that they will lose money anytime they have to repair or replace your car. This means that they will charge you more money than what a particular accident is worth. For this reason, insurance companies will monitor your driving record to determine how likely you are to become involved in an accident, and they will adjust your premium based on how often you are involved in an accident.

The good news is that most insurance companies know that not all accidents are avoidable. Also, some are more severe than others and you should not be penalized for accidents that are not your fault. Each insurance company will adjust its rates differently. However, in general, insurance companies treat accidents similarly and they will adjust their prices based on the type of accident you have been in. Here are some common examples of accidents that could raise your rates.


     1. Single car accident

A single-car accident refers to an accident that involves just one vehicle. This might occur if you crash your car but don’t hit another vehicle. For example, if you hit a tree or drive off the road, then you are involved in a single-car crash.

Single car accidents don’t usually increase your auto rates too much because your provider does not have to pay for damage to another car. However, single car crashes can still increase your rates because the insurance company may think you are being an irresponsible driver. You may have to pay even more if you were injured in the accident.


     2. Minor multiple car accident

If you were involved in a car crash that was your fault, then it won’t be easy to get out of a car insurance rate increase. Most people are involved in a few minor car accidents in their lifetimes, such as parking lot collisions and fender benders. But even though these accidents may be small, you may still be penalized if you’re at fault.

Your car insurance premiums should not increase too much as long as the accident was not very serious. If the insurance company does not have to pay too much to repair the other car’s damage, then your rates should not go up much. However, if you have been involved in several multiple car accidents, even if they caused minimal damage, then your rates will probably go up.


     3. Major multiple car accident

If you are involved in an accident with someone else that caused major injuries and you are at fault, then your premium will increase drastically. This is because major accidents with another person require the insurance company to pay a lot of money. It also negatively impacts your driving history for several years.

If you do not have another major accident on your driving record within three to five years, then your rates should go back down to normal. However, there is no way to avoid a price hike if you were involved in an accident that caused serious injuries or damage to another person.


     4. Accidents that were caused by a DUI

The type of accident that will affect your premium the most includes one in which you received a DUI. In fact, your rates will increase if you get a DUI even if you were not involved in an accident. If you get involved in a car crash due to a DUI, then your car insurance rates will skyrocket.

This is because driving while under the influence is dangerous to you and everyone else on the road. You may even have a hard time finding a company to give you car insurance if you have numerous car crashes on your record that were due to a DUI.


     5. No-fault accident

A no-fault accident is one in which you are involved in an accident but did not cause it. Insurance companies know that even if you do everything right, you may still become involved in a no-fault accident. Most of the time, your car insurance rates will not increase if you were involved in a no-fault accident.

However, there are several states with no-fault car insurance, meaning that they do not assign fault for accidents and your rates will still go up despite not being at fault. States with no-fault insurance include:

If you live in one of these states, then your insurance rates will still probably go up even if you were not responsible for causing the accident.


     6. Hit and run accident

A hit and run accident occurs when you get in an accident with someone else and they leave the scene. Most of the time, someone else will hit you and then take off.

If this occurs, then you will not be held responsible for the accident and your rates will not go up in most cases. However, you will need to prove that someone else hit you and took off.

Car Insurance Rates After An Accident - By State

The following is a breakdown of how much your car insurance rates may go up after an accident by state. Keep in mind that these rates may vary by year, among other factors. Always consult your auto insurance company for exact rates and details.


Yearly Insurance Rate

Post-Accident Rate

% Difference





New Jersey
















North Carolina








































New Hampshire
















South Carolina
















































New York




West Virginia




































North Dakota




Rhode Island












South Dakota




New Mexico
















What Insurance Companies Offer the Best Auto Rates After An Accident?

In addition to varying by state, your car insurance rates after an accident will depend on what insurance company you have. Some insurers are more forgiving than others. If you have been in an accident and your current insurance company has doubled your rates, then it might be a good idea to shop around. Not all insurance companies will double your rate.

Many car insurance companies offer some type of accident forgiveness. These policies usually mean that your insurance company will ignore or “forgive” your first auto accident and keep your rates the same. You may have to pay more for accident forgiveness or add this feature to your policy. But it’s worth it, especially if you have been in an accident before or you live in a state that is not very forgiving otherwise.

Some companies will automatically add accident forgiveness to your plan after so many years of clean driving, such as five or more years without an accident. State Farm is an example of an auto insurance company that will add on accident forgiveness after nine years of no accidents on your driving record.

State Farm also has the lowest rate increases across five of the largest insurers at just 24% after an accident that led to a bodily injury claim. Geico, Allstate, and Progressive went up at least 50% for full-time auto insurance coverage on average after an accident that caused an injury.

Some insurance companies have different standards when it comes to what constitutes an accident. This can affect how they raise your rates (or don’t) after an accident. For example, State Farm requires a claim to be more than $750 in the form of collision and liability coverage to be considered an accident. Also, the driver needs to be at least 50% at fault for it to be considered an accident. Geico has similar requirements with a $500 coverage limit.

This is important because not all insurers will raise your rates as high if there are special circumstances involving your case. Accidents can happen anytime, and you should not be penalized if the accident was not your fault. In some cases, you may have to prove that the accident was not your fault, but it’s worth it to preserve your low auto insurance rates (if you have them).

Here is a breakdown of the best auto insurance companies if you have been in an accident:


Yearly Rate

Post-Accident Rate

% Increase

State Farm




















How Many Years Does An Auto Accident Stay On My Record?

If you got into an accident years ago, then it shouldn’t affect your current auto insurance rates too much. However, if the accident was recent, then your rates will likely go up immediately. Most of the time, your auto insurance rates will return to normal between three and five years after an accident. This allows enough time for the accident to be cleared from your record. Some companies will want to know that you have taken steps to become a safer driver since the accident, such as taking a safe driving course.

In most cases, your rates will increase by about 60% the next time your policy renews if you have been in a car accident within the past six months. This price hike will gradually decrease over time. The average auto insurance rate increase after an accident is about 47% higher than it was two years before an accident and only about 2.4% higher after four years. By about five years after your accident, your rates should return to normal again.

Auto insurance companies believe that drivers who are responsible for an accident and made a liability claim on their policy are more likely to make another one. This is why auto insurance companies tend to charge more if you have been in an accident. The good news is that the longer ago your accident was, the less likely your insurance rates will be affected.

Exceptions To The Rule: When An Accident Doesn’t Increase Your Insurance Rates

Most of the time, your insurance rates will go up after an accident. However, there are some exceptions to this rule that you should be aware of. For example, most insurance companies will not raise your rates as much if you are not at fault. However, defining what isn’t considered an accident can be complicated. If you were at least 50% at fault for the accident, then you may not have to pay more for car insurance.

However, if you are a new policyholder, then your insurance company may still decide to increase your rates even if you are only half responsible. The problem is that it can be hard for a driver to prove that they were not responsible for an accident.

State Farm states that a driver is not responsible for an accident if the following occurred:

Keep in mind that insurance companies will look at the last three years of your driving record before your policy start date when determining your auto insurance rates. This means that if you were involved in an accident five years ago, it should not affect a new policy. However, this may only be relevant if you have been with an auto company for several years and you are enrolled in an accident forgiveness plan.

How Does a No-Fault Accident Affect Your Insurance?

Most of the time, drivers will see their insurance rates increase by 12% after a no-fault accident. However, this amount depends on the insurance company and state. For example, Oklahoma and California prevent insurance companies from raising care insurance rates if a driver gets into an accident and it was not their fault. As of 2017 - the most recent year that this data was available - State Farm does not raise their auto traits at all if you were in a not-at-fault accident.

Keep in mind that sometimes your insurance company may still have to pay for an accident that you did not cause. If you live in a no-fault state and your insurer has to pay for your medical expenses, they will probably raise your rates no matter who was at fault for the accident. Also, if you are hit by someone who is uninsured, your insurance company might not pay for the damages. This depends on your policy and what type of coverage you have. Your insurance company will take these factors into consideration when calculating your premium after an accident.

How Do I Prevent My Insurance Rates From Going Up After An Accident?

woman holding credit card while at computer

There may be some ways you can prevent your insurance from going up after an accident, even if you are at fault for the accident and cannot get accident forgiveness. This is because your auto insurance rates are calculated based on a wide variety of factors, and there are several things you can do to keep your car insurance premiums from going up.

You may also want to shop around to determine how different insurance companies calculate their premium. Make sure that no two quotes from different providers are the same. It also may help you to alter your policy. A good rule of thumb is to buy as much car insurance as you can afford. However, if there is a no-fault accident on your record and it’s preventing you from finding insurance that you can afford, then consider decreasing the amount of coverage on your policy. You may also increase the deductible to get a lower premium.

Some insurance companies may ask you to take a defensive driving course after an accident. This can be a good way to keep your rates down. Safe driver courses can lower your rates AND help prevent getting into an at-fault accident in the future. If you got a ticket or points on your license after an accident, you might be able to remove them by taking a safe driving course. In any case, practicing safe driving habits is always a good way to prevent your car insurance from going up - even if you aren’t being compensated or acknowledged for it by the insurer.

Can I Switch Car Insurance Companies After An Accident?

Yes, you can switch your car insurance after you have been in an accident. In fact, you can switch car insurance companies anytime you want, regardless if you have an accident on your record. You do not have to wait until your policy is up for renewal to switch, and you can also change insurance companies if you have an open claim.

There is no penalty for changing your car insurance company after an accident. However, you may have to pay cancellation fees from your current insurance company if you need to cancel your policy early. You are also less likely to save money by switching car companies right after an accident as your rate will include your latest accident. Keep in mind that although you can switch car insurance companies after an accident, you can’t escape having an accident on your record.

Also, keep in mind that if you are responsible for causing the accident, the insurance company that you had at the time of the accident will still have to handle your claim even if you cancel your coverage and change insurers. You cannot switch your insurance companies and expect to have the new company handle your claim. You may want to wait until your current insurance company handles your claim before switching companies.

If you switch car insurance companies on the day of your accident, it might be viewed as suspicious by potential insurers. For this reason, you may want to wait until the claim processes before switching. It may also be a good idea to wait until the insurance company settles your claim so you don’t have to deal with two insurance companies at once.

Also, remember that if you switch insurance providers, you will want to make sure you have a new policy in place before canceling your old policy. It’s always better to overlap your policies at least for a day or two to ensure you don’t have a gap in coverage. Gaps in your coverage will be viewed negatively by many insurance companies because they will assume you are an unsafe driver. It’s also against the law to drive without insurance coverage. If you are caught driving without insurance, it may result in a ticket and points on your license - and this can increase insurance rates.

Do I Need Accident Forgiveness?

Accident forgiveness can help keep your rates from going up after an accident. However, this is not always guaranteed. There are some instances in which your rates will still increase after an accident even if you have accident forgiveness, which makes it hard for some drivers to know whether accident forgiveness is worth the money.

Accident forgiveness is a feature that you can have added to your car insurance policy. It’s designed to help prevent insurance companies from raising your rates if you have been in an accident. Some insurance companies include accident forgiveness in your policy while others will make you pay extra for it. Some insurance companies may offer a combination package if you go with one that offers accident forgiveness. If your insurance coverage includes accident forgiveness at no cost, then there is no risk here. However, if you have to pay extra for it, you may want to consider the pros and cons before forking over the extra money.

Keep in mind that not every car insurance company offers accident forgiveness. There are also some states that prevent insurance companies from selling it - such as California. So, accident forgiveness might not even be an option for you, depending on your state’s laws. Also, keep in mind that there are limitations to every accident forgiveness policy. Most of the time, accident forgiveness coverage only applies to one accident per policy and not per driver on the policy. This means that if you share coverage with someone, accident forgiveness only applies to one of you (usually the policyholder), and you are only allowed one accident while your policy is active.

For example, Farmers Insurance forgives one at-fault accident for every three years that you go without an accident. Also, keep in mind that your accident will stay on your record even if you have accident forgiveness. So, while the insurance company might forgive you this one time and keep your rates the same, your accident will still show up on your driving record for three to five years. This means that other insurance companies can see this accident on your driving record if you decide to switch companies, which can affect your rate and ability to get accident forgiveness in the future from other insurers.

What Are Chargeable Accidents?

driver holding cell phone

A chargeable accident refers to an accident that you are responsible for. It’s also known as an “at-fault” accident. Chargeable accidents are determined by the insurance company. They will investigate the accident and determine who is responsible. If they find that the accident is more than 50% your fault, then it may be a chargeable accident.

Chargeable accidents may also include damage to another person’s property, bodily injury, or death. Some chargeable accidents are as simple as a fender bender, but they can also be as serious as totaling someone else’s car. When an insurance company determines that an accident is chargeable, it will increase your premium. Some states define a chargeable accident by a dollar amount or how much money in damage the accident caused.

For example, Massachusetts state laws indicate that you may have to pay a surcharge if the accident that you were involved in results in a claim payment of over $1,000 worth of damage to someone else’s property or a collision or bodily injuries to someone else. This includes accidents in which the driver is more than 50% responsible and they are driving a private passenger vehicle. Other states - including Minnesota - claim that an accident is chargeable if the insured driver has to pay more than $500 in body injury liability or in collision or property damage.

The bad news is that a chargeable account may stay on your driving record for a while. This means that you can expect to pay more money for your car insurance, no matter who you choose to insure you. Some insurance companies may gradually decrease your fees every year that you go accident-free. Most states will gradually lower your surcharge over three years until it’s completely gone as long as you don’t get into another accident.

Keep in mind that not all car accidents will increase your insurance. This includes accidents that could not have been prevented on your behalf. The following is a list of examples of situations that aren’t considered chargeable accidents:

Accident Forgiveness Rules, According To Insurance Companies

If you are thinking about getting accident forgiveness, keep in mind that not every insurance company offers it. Additionally, not everyone qualifies for it and some accidents are not eligible for forgiveness. For example, Farmers has a policy that states that you cannot qualify for accident forgiveness if you have any drivers in your household under age 21 who have less than three years of driving experience. Before you ask your insurer about accident forgiveness, remember that you need a clean driving record.

Most insurance companies will not give you accident forgiveness if you have an accident on your driving record within the past five years. For example, if you want to qualify for the Farmers Flex add-on from Farmers Insurance, then all drivers over the age of 25 on the policy must be clear from all chargeable or at-fault accidents. They must also have no DUIs and no more than one minor citation or speeding ticket. Drivers under 25 cannot have any traffic citations or tickets whatsoever and must have a completely clean record.

Also, keep in mind that accident forgiveness does not mean you are safe from all rate increases in the future. Most policies only allow you one accident even if there are several drivers on the policy. If you have your spouse and children under 25 on your policy, and one of your children gets into a chargeable accident, then accident forgiveness will not apply to the rest of you on the policy.

Best Accident Forgiveness Alternatives

If accident forgiveness is not an option for you or you are not convinced that you need it, then you can look at some alternatives. There are other ways to save money on your auto insurance policy or protect yourself in case you are in an accident.

For example, you can ask for a good driver’s discount, which is similar to an accident forgiveness policy. A good driver’s discount can help you get a discount if you have a clean driving record for an extended period of time. Geico offers a good driver discount if you have been accident-free for five years. You can even get up to 26% off most coverage types.

If you have a clean driving record, you can ask for a vanishing deductible, which is an optional feature that allows safe drivers to reduce their deductible amount for any claims filed - as long as you continue to drive safely. For example, if you buy the Premier Responsible Driver Plan from Travelers insurance, you can get a decreasing deductible. This policy gives you a $50 credit toward your deductible every six months you are accident-free - capped at $500.

You can also ask your car insurance company what other discounts you may qualify for if accident forgiveness is not an option. Some companies will reward you for being a long-time policyholder, even if you do not have a perfect driving record. It never hurts to ask!

What Insurance Companies Offer Accident Forgiveness?

It should be noted that each insurance company may offer different terms and conditions for their accident forgiveness insurance. Check out some of these examples below.

  1. Geico - Geico offers free accident forgiveness to policyholders who have maintained a clean driving record. To qualify for free accident forgiveness, you must have a clean driving record for five years. Drivers under 21 may not qualify. You can also buy add-on accident forgiveness coverage as an upgrade to your policy. 
  2. Liberty Mutual - Liberty Mutual offers accident forgiveness as an add-on feature that you can purchase. You must have no accidents on your driving record for the past three years and no traffic violations for the past five years to qualify. Drivers under 25 must have a clean driving record for five years before they can get it.
  3. Progressive - Progressive allows policyholders to receive small accident forgiveness and large accident forgiveness through their loyalty rewards program. With small accident forgiveness coverage, your rate will not go up for claims that cost less than $500. Large accident forgiveness states that you can get forgiveness for more costly accidents as long as you have been a Progressive customer for five years and have been accident-free for three years in a row.
  4. Travelers - Travelers has a Responsible Driver Plan that provides accident forgiveness and forgiveness for minor violations. This plan forgives one accident and one minor violation every three years without increasing your rates.
  5. Nationwide - Nationwide offers accident forgiveness as an add-on that you can buy. They will forgive your first chargeable or at-fault accident or minor violation.

How Does Fault Impact Car Insurance Claims?

Auto insurance companies will want to know who is at fault for an accident. This is because the driver’s car insurance company will be responsible for paying for any losses and damages. Generally, an insurance adjuster will determine who is at fault for an accident. They will look at the statements of each driver as well as any witnesses and police reports to determine who is responsible for the accident. They will also gather as much evidence as they can.

Keep in mind that sometimes fault is shared. If the insurance adjuster finds that you have contributed to the accident - even if it’s only in a small way - then this might reduce the amount of money you can collect from the other driver’s insurance company. However, if you are at fault and the other driver sues you for a personal injury case, then your insurance company will represent you in court to help you get a fair settlement.

If the other driver is at fault, then you will have to deal with that person’s insurance company. You may be able to get help from your insurance company, but ultimately, you will have to get coverage under the other driver’s policy if they are responsible for the accident and there is no shared fault. If the other driver is at fault and is hesitant to pay for your medical bills or not cooperating, then you might want to get legal representation to make sure your case settles.

What Should I Do If Someone Hit My Parked Car?

car with smashed windshield

If someone hits your parked car, file an accident report with your local police department - even if an officer can’t come to the scene of the accident. You don’t always need to file a police report if you are not going to file a claim with your insurance company, but it makes the process easier. It may also come in handy if your car has more damage to it then you originally thought.

Insurance companies are also much more likely to pay for damages if there is a police report filed. If the person who hit you left a note, then their insurance company should pay for these damages with their property damage liability insurance. However, if the accident was a hit-and-run, then you and your insurance company will have to foot the bill.

Here is what to do after someone hits your parked car:


     1. Document everything you can about the scene of the accident

As soon as you realize your parked car has been hit, take pictures of your car and its surroundings. Make sure to take pictures of all damaged areas of the car - both inside and out. Also, take pictures of the note left by the other person, if there is one. Document the view of the doorway, your vehicle’s position, and any skid marks or other wreckage around the area.

Also, try to get information from witnesses if you can. Check to see if anyone saw your car get hit. If so, write down their information and anything they can tell you about the accident, such as their name, contact information, and statement. Be sure to write down the date, time, location, weather, and anything else you can think of that the insurance will ask you or need to see.


     2. File a police report

After you realize your car has been hit, call the police and file a report. They may send an officer to the scene of the accident or you may have to go into the police station to file one in person. You may also be able to do this online or give your information over the phone. Just make sure you have a police report filed as the insurance company will want to see it.


     3. File a claim with your insurance company

If someone hit you and left the scene, then your insurance company will be responsible for paying for the damage. This is why it’s so important to document everything and cover all of your bases. Insurance companies like a lot of information and written documents. They can help you begin the process of filing a claim for your accident.

Your insurance company can also help you file a claim with someone else’s insurance company if they left a note. If you are left to pay the bill on your own, then your insurance company will use your own collision coverage or uninsured motorist protection coverage - if you have them.

Should I File A Claim For Bumper Damage?

You should file a claim with your insurance company for bumper damage if the cost of the damage is more than your deductible - or if another person was at fault. If your bumper damage is less than your deductible and you were at fault, then you might want to pay for the repairs out of pocket without filing a claim.

This is because filing a claim may cause your car insurance rates to increase in the future. On average, one claim - even one for bumper damage - may increase your rates by 12% to 45%, depending on how extensive the damage is and how much your insurance company has to pay.

If you hit a curb and only have minor damage, then it might not be worth it for you to file a claim as long as the cost is only a little bit more than your deductible. Also, some insurance companies will not allow you to file a claim at all if the cost of repairs is less than your deductible.

You can also use your collision coverage to pay for the bumper damage if you were at fault. Comprehensive coverage can be used if the damage was caused by someone else or it was out of your control (such as during a weather-related event). However, if the bumper damage was caused by another driver, then you should file a claim with their property damage liability coverage. This will ensure that you won’t have to pay a deductible and your rates will not increase.


Q: How much do insurance rates go up after an accident?

A: The amount that your car insurance rates will increase depends on several factors, including your accident history, what state you live in, and your auto insurer’s policies. However, research shows that on average your rates will increase by about 46% after an accident that involves a bodily injury claim. If your accident involved extensive property damage of $2,000 or more, then your rates may increase even more than this. Michigan is notoriously known as having one of the steepest price increases after an accident while Kansas tends to be the most forgiving.

Q: Can I still get auto insurance after an accident?

A: You might be wondering if you can still get auto insurance after an accident. The short answer is - yes, you can still get auto insurance after you have been in an accident. However, expect to pay more unless your auto insurer offers accident forgiveness. If you have been a policyholder with your auto insurance company for many years, then they may not raise your rates as much, especially if you have a clean record otherwise. The best thing to do is shop around and find a company with the best rates, even after an accident.

Q: Will my insurance go up after I file a claim? Should I file a claim if I have been in an accident?

A: If you are worried that your insurance rates will increase after you file a claim, you are not alone. This is a valid concern as many insurance rates will increase after you file a claim. However, if your claim is below or just above your deductible, then it might be best to pay out of pocket to avoid increases in auto insurance rates or other surcharges. Most policies will require that you report all accidents to your insurance company. Your rates may increase based on your driving record and the severity of the accident.

Q: How long will an accident affect my insurance rates?

A: Insurance companies will focus on the past three to five years of your driving record when determining how much to charge you. If an accident is on your record for at least that long, then expect your rates to be affected. However, some insurance companies will also factor in an accident for more than this if you were at fault and the accident caused severe injuries or death.

The best thing to do is ask your insurance company about their accident policies before signing with them so that you know exactly what will happen before an accident. You can also ask your insurance company about actions you can take to show that safe driving is a priority to you, such as taking a safe driver's course. This will usually help keep your rates down.

Q: Will my insurance rates go up after a no-fault accident?

A: If you are involved in an accident that someone else was responsible for, then your rates will probably not increase. However, there are exceptions to this rule and you may need to show proof that you were not responsible in any way. Some companies will also raise your rates even if you were in an accident that wasn’t your fault. Be sure to know where your insurance company stands on this.

Q: Who should I file a claim with - my auto insurance or the other party’s?

A: It’s a good idea to file a claim with the other party’s car insurance company IF you are not at fault for the accident. You can also file with the other party’s insurer if you have standard liability coverage but no collision coverage. This is because liability insurance covers you for injuries and damage to other people and property if you are at fault in an accident, meaning that liability won’t apply if you are not at fault. In this case, the other driver’s policy would cover the damage.

There are a few drawbacks when it comes to filing a claim on someone else’s insurance policy. For example, the other driver’s insurance company will investigate your claim and make sure that their policyholder is responsible for the accident. Many insurers will try to deny your claim and state that their driver is not at fault. This is especially true if you did not file a police report after the accident.

If the opposing insurance company denies your claim and you do not have collision coverage, then you will have to take them to court. This can be a pain as court tends to be tedious and drags on for a long time. Insurance companies know that the longer it takes and the more difficult they make it to get the money you deserve, the more likely you will be willing to settle or drop the claim altogether.

car accident lawyer

However, if you have collision insurance, you can file a claim with your car insurance company or the other driver’s insurance company. When you file a claim with your insurance company, your insurer will begin a process known as subrogation. This occurs when your insurance company pays for your damage and then tries to gain compensation from the other driver’s insurance company afterward. You will likely have to pay your collision deductible, but you can get this money back after your insurance company settles with the opposing insurance company.

Keep in mind that collision insurance does not cover you if you get hurt. However, if your insurance company establishes that the other driver is at fault through the subrogation process, then it might help you get payment for your medical bills. In this case, the other driver’s insurance company would pay for your medical expenses. If the other driver involved in the crash is found to be responsible for the accident, then they will also have to cover your injuries. Your insurance company only pays for bills if you have medical coverage or personal injury protection.

If the other driver does not have insurance, then you can file a claim through uninsured motorist protection - if you have this type of coverage. There is no deductible for this.

Q: Can the insurance company cancel my insurance after an accident?

A: Yes, your auto insurance company can cancel your car insurance after an accident. However, most insurers will not cancel your coverage unless you have been in numerous accidents or the accident was caused by a DUI or another serious violation. If your insurance company decides to cancel your insurance coverage, then they will usually wait until your policy expires and then they will choose not to renew your policy.

Keep in mind that if your license becomes revoked or suspended due to the accident, then some states (like Texas and California) will allow your insurance company to drop you in the middle of your policy. The good news is that if your insurance company decides not to renew your policy, they are legally required to give you a 30-day notice. This allows you to find other options in a reasonable amount of time.

Although it’s not common for an insurance company to cancel a policy before it expires, many states allow insurance companies to cancel a new policy within 60 days for whatever reason. So, if you get into an accident immediately after opening a new policy with a company, then they may try to cancel your coverage. After this 60 day period, your insurance company will need to give you anywhere from a 10 day to a 100-day notice before canceling your policy - depending on the state you live in. This will give you plenty of time to find a new policy elsewhere. It’s not a good idea to drop one insurance policy before you pick up another. Insurance companies do not like to see any gaps in coverage, and it’s always better to have overlapping policies than no coverage at all as you will be seen as high risk.

In the event that your insurance company decides to drop you after an accident, you will need to find an insurance company to sell you a high-risk policy. You can get one of these from most of the major insurance companies. However, it’s a good idea to consider getting a quote from non-standard insurance companies that specialize in insuring drivers who are high risk. If you still cannot find coverage after being dropped, then you might need to enter your state’s assigned risk pool temporarily while you improve your driving record and regain coverage.

Q: Should I get accident forgiveness?

A: Before getting accident forgiveness, you will want to consider the cost. If your insurance company does not offer free accident forgiveness, then make sure that the cost of coverage does not exceed the cost of a premium increase. For example, if your insurance plan offers accident forgiveness for $150 per year and you have a clean driving record for ten years, then you are spending $1,500 for coverage that you don’t need.

Also, if you don’t drive much, then you might not need it. Keep in mind that there might be situations in which you are not eligible for accident forgiveness, such as if your state does not allow it. You might also not qualify if you are under the age of 25 or if you have been in an accident recently (within the past five years), even if you are trying to change insurance companies strictly for the added benefit of obtaining accident forgiveness.

On the other hand, if you have a high-risk driver on your policy, then accident forgiveness might be worth the cost. You might also want to consider adding it to your policy if you drive a lot and the chances of getting in an accident are elevated simply because you’re on the road more than most, despite being a good driver. Always shop around for the best price and best policy coverage if you’re unsure about whether or not it’s worth it to get accident forgiveness.

Q: What insurance should I use if someone hits my parked car?

A: If someone hits your parked car, then you can use your collision insurance coverage or uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to pay for it. Either of these options will come with a deductible, which is something you will have to pay for out of pocket to have your car fixed. You may also have to deal with policy limits. So, expect to pay out of pocket anything that isn’t covered by your plan, including damage that exceeds your limits. Also, keep in mind that uninsured motorist property damage coverage is not always available in every state. And IF it’s available in your state, you might not be able to use it if the at-fault driver cannot be properly identified (such as during a hit-and-run).

Q: Can I still get insurance on a car that has been in an accident?

A: It will be hard to get one of the more prominent insurance companies to provide you physical damage coverage on a car that already has damage on it. You might be able to find coverage from a smaller insurance company. A non-standard insurance carrier appeals to high-risk drivers. They tend to offer specialized rates for drivers who have been in an accident or have a damaged car.

If you try to get coverage for a car that has been in an accident before, be sure to disclose the damage done. Don’t try to hide that the car has been in an accident. This could lead to the insurance company investigating you for insurance fraud. It’s not worth the trouble or risk.

Most insurance companies will want to document the damage. They will have you fill out a form describing the damage, or they will send out an agent to do this for them. The agent will want to see the car and take pictures of the damage to document what’s wrong with the car upfront. This ensures that - if you file a claim - they will have all of the pre-existing damage on file, meaning that you can’t try to claim that it was damaged after you insured it. Remember that pre-existing damages are not covered by your new policy.

If you manage to find an insurance company that will insure your car after it has been in an accident, opt out of the extra services. You probably won’t need roadside assistance, low deductibles, or rental car coverage. You will likely need to save your money and pay for the pre-existing damage before an insurance company will insure your damaged car.

Q: What happens if I file a claim without reporting prior damage?

A: Don’t panic if you file a claim without reporting prior damage - as long as it’s minor. It’s not uncommon for a driver to file a claim for an extensive amount of damage while there is still some small work that needs to be done on your car that was never taken care of. Insurance adjusters will likely be able to tell the difference between the pre-existing damage and the damage you are currently claiming. They have seen it all!

The important thing to remember is that you need to be honest and let your current insurance company know about prior car damage. The more details you disclose, the better. Don’t try to hide anything and write it off in your current claim because this can lead to insurance fraud. If you are convicted of insurance fraud, then you will have a very hard time finding another company to insure you in the future. If your new damage occurs on top of the damage that already exists on the car, then the insurance adjuster might allow all repairs to be made under one claim. As long as you are honest with your adjuster, you will not be accused of insurance fraud.

Most of the time, your insurance company will handle prior damage in one of two ways. First, they will either file multiple claims to cover both the pre-existing damage as well as the current damage. This means that you will likely have to pay two deductibles, but all charges and repairs can be made at once - as long as you have the proper coverage on your policy at the time of the accident. The second option is that they will ignore the pre-existing damage. Your insurance adjuster might tell the repair shop to only fix the new damage on your car. If this happens, you will only have to pay the deductible on the new damage and the repairs would only be made for your current accident.

Keep in mind that car insurance can be tailored to meet your needs. Don’t be afraid to tell your insurance company what you need. They might work with you. The last thing you want to do is lie about your car damage when filing a claim because this could result in legal trouble for you.

Q: How much will my insurance go up after a fender bender?

A: Most of the time, a minor fender bender will make your insurance go up - depending on whether or not you were at fault. Even small fender benders are surcharged the same whether they cost $200 or $2,000. For example, if your yearly premium is $1,500 and you are charged 25% in addition to a rating tier change of 10%, then your premium will increase by about $562.50 to $2,065.50. This rate will likely stay with you for about three to five years. Either way, you will have to pay out of pocket for a fender bender.

Q: Do I need to contact my car insurance company after a minor accident?

Many people are scared that their car insurance rates will go up after an accident, so they won’t contact their insurer if they have been in a small accident. While you might think that not contacting your insurance company after a small accident will save you money, it’s always best to let them know anytime you have been in an accident that involves another driver. It’s especially important to contact your insurance company if you have been in an accident that resulted in injuries or property damage. The only time you might want to consider not contacting your insurance company is if you only damaged your own car, the property damage is minimal, and there are no other injuries.

There are two primary reasons why you should always contact your insurance company, even if you were in a minor accident. First, even if the accident seems small at the time, you might decide later that you need to file a claim. Keep in mind that injuries like whiplash or back injuries can have delayed symptoms. Even if you feel fine at the time, these injuries can worsen over time, resulting in the need for a claim. You may also have a dent or a scratch on your car that doesn’t bother you at first, but then you might change your mind once you find out the impact on your car’s value.

Also, keep in mind that a handshake agreement at the scene of the accident may not prevent the other driver from filing a claim against you. By filing a claim first, it ensures that your insurance company will help defend you - either against the other driver’s insurance company or in court. If you do not report the accident right away, your insurance company may deny any claims that you file later on. They may also choose not to represent you in a lawsuit or court, meaning that you will have to pay out of pocket for damages, legal representation, or both. Reporting all accidents to your insurance company also makes sure your insurer will be able to properly investigate your claim so that they do not have to delay the claim, which could result in them refusing to cover you if you go to court or need repairs.   

Q: Is sliding on ice considered an at-fault accident?

A: If you were involved in an accident that was caused by unstable road conditions, such as ice, it can be hard to know whether you are considered at fault. Many drivers find that they are driving cautiously and carefully, and still cannot maintain control of their cars. An accident that involves sliding on ice may cause a lot of damage, including bodily injury, damage to your car or someone else’s car, and property damage. Unfortunately, if you slide on ice and hit another car or object, it is considered an at fault claim - even if you were not ticketed if a police officer came to the scene of the accident. This is because the insurance company looks at it like this - someone is at fault, and it can’t be the ice’s fault. Therefore, if you slip on the ice and hit someone else, you will be held responsible by the insurance company.

Q: What does 50/50 mean in a car accident?

A: When an auto insurance company investigates a claim against one of its policyholders, they are hoping to find a way to determine that at least half of the blame is due to the other driver’s negligence. It’s common for at least half of the fault to be deflected onto the other driver involved in the accident. A 50/50 car insurance claim refers to what happens when an insurance company determines that fault is shared between each of the two drivers involved in the accident.

Even if you only made a small mistake in the accident, the insurance company may still determine that you are 50 percent at fault, especially if the accident could have been prevented if that mistake had not been made. If the accident is determined to be 50/50 at fault, and both parties agree, then it is referred to as a split liability agreement. This means that any property or damage costs will be shared equally between parties and that the person injured will only be able to collect half of the value of their claim. Common types of 50/50 accidents include when a driver hits someone else while making an illegal turn, a car crash that occurs when both drivers do not stop at a four-way stop, and when one driver is speeding and gets hits by a driver who changes lanes unexpectedly.

Every year, millions of workers' compensation claims are filed in an attempt to receive help paying for doctor visits, emotional damage, and lost wages. Some people can complete this process on their own. However, most require the help of a workers' compensation attorney.

An experienced workers' compensation attorney can help you get the money you deserve if you have been injured or fallen sick on the job due to unsafe workplace conditions. Work comp lawyers help clients get the medical care they need if they have been hurt on the job.

In this article, we will discuss everything you need to know about hiring a workers' compensation attorney, including what they do, how they do it, and why you need one if you have been hurt or gotten sick at work. 

What is a Workers' Compensation Attorney?

Many employers and their insurance companies try to escape responsibility for injuries and illnesses that their employees fall victim to while on the job. For this reason, partnering with a workers' compensation attorney can help you fight these attempts to scam you out of the money you deserve when you need help the most.

Workers' compensation attorneys are lawyers that help victims communicate with medical professionals and insurance staff when filing a workers' comp claim. A workers' compensation lawyer can help you clarify legal terms and will fight for you in court if your case makes it there. The workers' comp claim process can be very tricky, and insurers will do whatever they can to stop you from being paid out.

A workers' compensation attorney’s job is to help you settle your claim if an insurance adjuster does not solve your case, or tries to low-ball you, which is a term that refers to offering you a settlement that is less than what it’s worth. Your employer may only be concerned about his or her best interest.

However, a trustworthy workers' compensation lawyer will have your best interest in mind. This means that they will help you get the benefits you deserve after suffering an injury or illness at work. Without professional help, your employer and their insurance agency may try to rip you off.

A good workers' compensation attorney will represent you whether or not your case goes to court, working tirelessly to get you the money you deserve to attend doctor’s visits, recover lost wages, and recover from emotional trauma. In the next section, we will talk about what a workers' compensation lawyer does.

Why Should I Hire A Workers' Compensation Lawyer?

Legal counsel is essential for your claim. Hiring a workers' compensation attorney could be the difference between winning the maximum amount for your claim or being denied by the insurance company. You could also be forced into settling for an amount that is less than what your injury is worth, making you feel frustrated and resentful toward your employer.

There are so many things that can go wrong during the process of filing a workers' compensation claim. Additionally, there are many legal terms that can be confusing. If you don’t have a good grasp of the workers' compensation process, then hiring a lawyer to fight for you is imperative. Even if you have a good understanding of the legal process, it’s a good idea to hire a lawyer and let them handle all of the work for you. This will ensure that you have time and energy to focus on proper recovery.

A qualified legal professional is equipped with the knowledge of all aspects of a workers' compensation claim. They will stand up for you and speak on your behalf to your employer and their insurance company so you don’t have to. They will also take care of all of the documentation that needs to be submitted and will give you professional legal advice to make sure you win the maximum amount. Insurance companies are less likely to deny your claim or make you settle for a low-ball offer if they know you have professional representation. They know that a lawyer won’t let you settle, and they will appeal your case if it’s denied.

What Does A Workers' Compensation Attorney Do?

A workers' compensation attorney can be there for you if you have been hurt or fallen ill due to hazardous work conditions. They will help you file a claim and ensure that you are protected against any legal implications associated with the incident. They will also ensure that you get the maximum amount allowed for your claim.

Many people find that filing a workers' compensation claim is hard. Legal terms can be difficult to understand if you haven’t been professionally trained. Hiring a workers' compensation attorney can help you after you have filed a claim. They will be there every step of the way to handle the legal aspect of your workers' compensation claim.

Even if you find that filing a workers' compensation claim is an easy and straightforward process, hiring an attorney can help you if your case becomes more difficult than previously thought. A workers' compensation attorney has been trained to handle cases that involve workplace injuries or incidents. They will be able to help you fill out the required documents and win as much money as possible to handle your financial obligations.

A workers' compensation lawyer can also help you obtain the necessary documents that your claim needs from other parties, such as your employer, doctor, and other therapies that you may be undergoing. Hiring a workers' comp attorney can also help speed your case along so that you get your settlement sooner. They will also be able to ensure a smooth case and that you don’t get taken advantage of by your employer or the insurance company.

A workers' compensation attorney should be able to help you with the following:

     1. Protects your rights

A workers' compensation attorney’s primary job is to protect your rights. Your workers' compensation lawyer should know your state’s laws and use them to get you proper compensation after a workplace injury. Many employers and insurance companies will try to deny you these rights, and a lawyer can help fight them to get the money you deserve. The best workers' compensation attorney will make sure that they don’t stop fighting until you get the settlement offer you’re after.

A workers' compensation attorney can also help you understand your legal benefits as an injured worker. For example, if you were injured on the job or became sick due to unfit conditions at work, then you may be eligible to collect compensation for lost wages, medical costs, and disability. The extent of your settlement may depend on the quality of your lawyer, making it important to find the best one with years of workers' compensation experience.

Proving that you are disabled and unable to work due to a workplace injury is often the most difficult part of a workers' comp claim. Tackling this by yourself is not recommended as you may not be as successful as a professional attorney would. Some insurance companies will deny you benefits as long as you can perform virtually any job at all, regardless of your injury. This can wreak havoc on your financial life, health, and well-being, as well as make your injury worse. This is just one more reason why it’s essential to seek the help of a workers' compensation attorney.

Additionally, a workers' compensation attorney will help you prove that you are unable to work due to an accident you sustained on the job. They will also argue against the insurance company if they deny your claim because they want you to work another job. Many people who sustain workplace injuries struggle to fight insurance companies who claim that they do not deserve compensation because of their ability to work another job that pays less after they are injured.

Hiring a lawyer can help find additional benefits that you may qualify for that your employer has failed to give you in the workplace. For example, you are entitled to a safe place to work. If your employer has not taken steps to provide this or is responsible for your injury, then this could be beneficial for your case. Common examples of workers' compensation injuries include slip and fall accidents, burns, sickness due to being exposed to inhaled chemicals, and more.

     2. Assist and protect you against retaliation

Some employers retaliate against their employees after they file a workers' compensation claim due to a workplace injury or illness. You might even find that your employer treats you differently or punishes you after you report the injury to them. Too many people face situations like these after claiming that their injuries were due to negligence at their workplace. Not only is this frustrating and devastating for the injured; it’s also illegal. Employers are not allowed to retaliate against employees who have filed workers' comp claims or reported an injury, and it’s against the law to treat their employees differently after the incident.

If your employer has harassed you, reduced your pay, treated you unfairly, or interfered with your daily life after you filed or reported a workplace injury, then it’s time to hire a legal team for professional support and guidance. No one should be forced to deal with a situation where they are harassed or made to feel uncomfortable due to their employer’s actions. A workers' compensation lawyer can help put a stop to this and prevent you from suffering from emotional trauma. An experienced workers' compensation attorney knows will work hard to support their clients to ensure they are not being treated unfairly at work after being injured.

     3. Help you appeal a denial

Many workers' compensation claimants are forced into appealing a denied claim each year. If your workers' compensation claim has been denied, then it’s time to hire a lawyer to help you appeal your denial. It takes a significant amount of work to appeal a workers' compensation claim in most states, and you should not try to tackle this task alone without professional help. An experienced workers' compensation attorney should have knowledge about your state’s laws, which is needed to successfully win your case after a denial.

If your workers' compensation claim has been denied, then an attorney can help you submit your petition for benefits and ensure that all of the proper information is included in the petition. Filling out this information incorrectly could cost you the case. This information includes the details concerning your accident or injury, all information necessary to show that you’ve suffered lost wages, and the type of benefits you are pursuing.

Your lawyer will also be able to help you with your mediation hearing, which is a type of informal meeting held between you, the insurance company, and your lawyer. During this meeting, a third party will be there to help resolve issues and make sure the meeting stays civil. Do not attend this meeting without an attorney as he or she will know how to speak to the insurance company on your behalf to make sure your appeal is successful.

Finally, your lawyer will be with you when your claim goes to trial, if it makes it there. Trials only occur if the mediation meeting was unsuccessful and you did not reach a settlement with the insurance company. Your lawyer will provide evidence, testimonies, and other information at your trial to win your case against the insurance company. Don’t try to go to court alone without professional help! Pick a lawyer that has proven success in this area to ensure you win.

When Should I Hire A Workers' Compensation Lawyer?

The best time to contact a lawyer is immediately after a workplace injury or as soon as you know that an illness has occurred due to a workplace event. Hiring a lawyer right away ensures that your lawyer will be with you every step of the way, and he or she will know your case inside and out. They will be able to take immediate action for you after getting hurt so that you get the money you deserve without waiting too long and becoming unqualified for compensation.

Hiring a workers' compensation lawyer immediately after your injury will ensure that your claim is filled out as quickly as possible. After you hire an attorney, you should seek medical care. Your attorney will be able to help you with lost wages if you need to take off work to seek treatment. Sometimes a workers' compensation claim may require you to see a doctor of your employer’s choosing. However, an attorney should be able to help you use your doctor. They will also help make sure that your claim isn’t denied, and if it is, they will be able to help you appeal.

What Happens If My Workers' Comp Claim Is Denied?

A workers' compensation attorney can help if your claim is denied. Many people who become victims of workplace injuries and illnesses are forced into dealing with the uncertainty of a workers' compensation claim. This process is already hard enough without being denied. However, insurance companies make victims feel like they do not have the right to compensation even though they do. Similarly, your employer might turn against you if you file a claim against them, which can be stressful enough while trying to cope with injuries that leave you unable to work.

Keep in mind that you are entitled to compensation if you are injured at work, even if the insurance company says that you are not. Hiring a workers' compensation attorney can help ensure that your claim is not denied. If it is, they will fight for your right to appeal the insurance company’s decision and take your case to court. Lawyers are trained to fight in court, and this process can be overwhelming without professional help.

There are several reasons why your employer’s insurance company denies your claim. However, an experienced workers' compensation lawyer will look at the facts and make sure your employer pays for the medical expenses and lost wages you are entitled to. After all, you wouldn’t have become hurt or sick if it wasn’t for their lack of care for your safety. A workers' compensation lawyer can help boost the chances of your claim’s success, even if it has been denied by the insurance company.

Why Are Workers' Comp Claims Denied?

If your employer’s insurance company tries to tell you that you can’t be compensated for your injury, it means that the insurance company is trying to say that your injury or illness doesn’t fit the standards required for workers' comp coverage. This information may or may not be correct. The easiest way to understand your options moving forward is to hire an attorney. This is because the term ‘denial’ is vague and leaves room for interpretation. Many cases are denied and claimants give up because they think they have no other options.

However, a workers' comp claim lawyer can help determine if other options are available even if your claim has been denied. They will also check to make sure your claim was rightfully denied, and that you aren’t being denied coverage that you are entitled to. Working with a workers' compensation lawyer can help you understand the nature of your injury and how much money you are entitled to based on your state’s laws. You might find that you have several options available to you despite your employer’s claims that your claim is denied. A workers' compensation lawyer will be familiar with your state’s laws and the legal claim process to help determine your eligibility.

Here are some other reasons why your claim might be denied:

     1. The insurance company claims that your injury or condition is pre-existing.

Some people might be denied their workers' compensation claim because the employer’s insurance company tells them that their injury or illness is due to a pre-existing condition and does not qualify. Insurance companies will try to avoid paying you for your injuries or illness, so they will take the necessary steps to ensure that you are not qualified to receive benefits, even if your condition is not pre-existing. It’s very easy for the insurance company to tell you that the pain you are experiencing is from a previous medical condition and did not occur at the workplace.

When an insurance company tells you this, it’s time to hire a workers' compensation attorney. A lawyer can help you navigate tricky situations, such as excuses like this one that the insurance company comes up with to avoid paying you. Your workers' compensation lawyer knows how reductive and belittling it is to have your claim denied when you really need help, and they will work with you to show that previous medical conditions usually have no effect on the pain and suffering you experience during a workplace injury. In some states, the law indicates that people who endure injuries that aggravate pre-existing medical conditions must be compensated. 

An experienced workers' compensation attorney understands the reasoning for laws like this one, and they can help you fight for what you deserve when the insurance company tries to deny you. For example, lawyers know that pre-existing conditions are unrelated to your current injury, and they should have little to no bearing on your existing workers' compensation claim. A workers' compensation attorney can help you work around laws like these to ensure that your claim will not be denied due to a pre-existing condition, getting you the help you need.

     2. The insurance company says that you do not have proper medical documentation.

If the insurance company tells you that you do not have enough supporting medical documentation to prove your injuries or illness, then contact a workers' compensation lawyer. They can help prove that you submitted adequate paperwork and documentation, and will know how to handle the situation when insurance companies are trying to be sneaky.

An experienced workers' compensation attorney can also help you obtain the proper documentation that the insurance company requests. Your employer’s insurance company can legally ask to see your medical history as well as any documentation regarding the treatment for your injury or illness. Claimants are usually asked to sign medical releases and other forms of paperwork during the medical process, and these forms are sent to the insurance company for review.

However, many insurance companies will claim that they never received any documents, even if you are sure that you sent them in. Working with a workers' compensation attorney ensures that the insurance company will receive all documentation necessary to review your claim. They will work directly with the insurance company so that you don’t have to, ensuring that all paperwork is sent in and the insurance company cannot deny your claim due to lack of proper documentation. They will also handle the gathering of these documents so that you can concentrate on getting better after your injury.

An attorney will also keep track of the status of the paperwork to move your case along quicker. Insurance companies may try to stretch your case out longer than necessary in hopes of you settling for a reduced amount just to have some settlement money. A workers' compensation lawyer knows how insurance companies operate and they will fight for you to make sure you get every penny you deserve for medical treatment and other help regarding your workplace injury.

     3. No one witnesses your injury.

Insurance companies may deny you if your injury was unwitnessed or no one can back up your claims that you were injured on the job. They will question the validity of most workers’ compensation claims that are unwitnessed. In other words, the insurance company does not believe that your accident occurred at work if there is no proof (such as a video surveillance camera) or no one can speak on behalf of your incident.

There is not much you can do if no one witnessed your injury. However, you should always hire a workers’ compensation attorney to help you through this process, and make sure to report the injury to your supervisor and co-workers immediately after it happens. It’s also a good idea to tell everyone you talk to about the incident the same details. For example, make sure you tell the same story about how the incident occurred each time you tell it. This will ensure that anyone questioned about your injury will provide the same details if your employer or their insurance company asks to interview them.

     4. You didn’t report your injury quickly enough.

Insurance companies may deny your claim if you don’t report your accident or injury quickly enough. They assume that you weren’t really hurt if you don’t report it right away. This might not always be true. Sometimes an incident occurs that doesn’t cause an injury right away, but it leads to one over time. This is why it’s important to report your accident as soon as it happens. It will cover you if you develop an injury later.

Some states have workers’ compensation laws that require you to report work-related injuries within a short time frame, such as within seven days. Do not wait to report your incident, even if it doesn’t cause you pain at first. If you get into an accident at work or suffer a small injury, report it to your supervisor immediately. This will cover you if you think the injury will cause you to miss out on any work. You can do this by filling out an incident or accident report. Then your employer will have to comply with the state’s law and this will help you get benefits as soon as possible.

     5. There is a discrepancy between your medical records and the accident report.

Insurance companies will often deny workers’ compensation claims if the documents, records, or statements regarding how the incident occurred are inconsistent. For example, if you tell your employer that the accident happened one way, but you tell your doctor that it happened another way, then these inconsistencies will hurt your claim. This is why it’s important to make sure you tell everyone the same story about your accident, including your employer, medical team, friends, family, and so on. Doing so will ensure that there are no inconsistencies in your story and that there is no reason for the insurance company to deny your claim.

     6. Your medical records indicate that there were drugs in your system at the time of your accident.

If you go to the emergency room for a workplace accident and they find illegal drugs or alcohol in your system at the time, then this can hurt your claim. If this happens, then the insurance company will definitely deny your claim. However, if you still feel that you are qualified to receive benefits even if you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time of the accident, then contact a lawyer to determine if you still have a case.

     7. You filed a claim after you were laid off or fired

If you got hurt at work and didn’t get around to filing a workers’ compensation claim until after you were laid off or fired, the insurance company might deny your claim. Most of the time, the insurance company will deny your claim if you don’t file it right away. However, there are some situations where they might work with you.

But the insurance company will almost always deny you if you wait to file until after you are no longer employed because they assume you are filing out of revenge. The insurance will also assume that if you are truly hurt, you will file a claim right away. This is another reason not to wait. If you get laid off or fired before you file a claim, you will have a hard time convincing the insurance company that you really are hurt. 

     8. You refused to sign medical authorizations or give a recorded statement

If you refuse to give the insurance company a recorded statement or you did not sign medical authorizations, then your claim will almost always be denied. Insurance companies will usually ask you to give a recorded statement describing the accident if you file a workers’ compensation claim. This can put you in a difficult situation. Generally, giving a statement will not help you if you do not have a lawyer.

Additionally, you are not legally required to give a statement. If the insurance company asks you for one, then this is usually a sign that there is something wrong with your case. If you agree to give a statement, then the insurance company will probably not approve your claim. However, if you do not provide a statement, then the insurance company can tell you that you will not get any benefits if you do not comply. This is why it’s important to hire a workers’ compensation attorney. They can give you the best advice when it comes to giving a recorded statement.

Insurance companies will also ask you to sign medical authorizations allowing them to gain access to your medical bills and records. Again, you are not legally required to do this, but if you don’t, it can hurt your claim. You can usually work around this by not signing the medical authorizations, but instead sending all medical bills and records to the insurance company yourself. The problem is that insurance companies don’t like when you do this because they don’t trust you. They want to obtain your medical records themselves.

This way, they can be sure that they get your complete file and not just the records you want them to see. The problem with signing a medical authorization is that the insurance company will sometimes invade your privacy and obtain documents that do not pertain to the workplace incident. If the insurance company tries to pressure you into signing a medical authorization and you don’t want to, then contact a workers’ compensation attorney right away. You can let your lawyer deal with the insurance company. This is what they were trained to do anyway!

Types of Workers' Compensation Injuries

Workplace injuries can happen anytime and in any industry, which is potentially dangerous for employers and employees alike. According to the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, private industry workers experienced 2.9 million workplace injuries and illnesses in 2016 alone, which equals 2.9 cases per 100 full-time employees in the United States.

When you’re injured, workers’ compensation insurance can help cover you financially for lost work and medical expenses, allowing you to recover. There are many different types of injuries and illnesses that may occur due to a workplace incident. Here are some of the most common workers’ compensation injuries.

Sprains and Strains

Sprains are torn or stretched ligaments, and strains are torn or stretched muscles and tendons. You can experience a sprain or strain at work if you fall, twist, or pull your body in the wrong way. Most workplace sprains and strains occur when you have improper lifting or ergonomics. Employers can help keep their employees safe from sprains and strains by becoming familiar with the United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration's (OSHA) lifting guidelines and ergonomic guidelines.

You can also slip and fall and sprain or strain your ankle or another body part if there is ice on the ground or a slippery surface. If your employer did not take proper precautions to protect you from slipping and falling at work, then you may be entitled to a workers’ compensation claim if you were injured. Employers should make sure that their workplace conditions are safe for workers, even if they are not required to move around a lot. It should be safe for employers to enter and exit the building, safely go up and down stairs, and practice proper lifting techniques.


A laceration is a deep cut or tear in one’s flesh or skin. Cuts or tears can occur on the job at virtually any type of job and in any industry. However, they tend to be the most common in machine shops, manufacturing, restaurants, and food production industries. Lacerations are most common when employees hurry or rush to finish the job, do not wear proper safety equipment (such as gloves that cannot be cut through) or lose concentration. However, lacerations can also be caused by hazardous work conditions on the job due to the employer’s negligence, such as leaving out equipment or unsafe building conditions.

To reduce laceration injuries on the job, employers should educate their employees on how to wear the most appropriate attire or safety gear for their job. Employees should keep their work areas neat and tidy to prevent lacerations, and equipment and tools should never be left out or used in any other way than as intended to perform the job. Business owners should make sure that their equipment is safe to use and is replaced frequently. For example, if an employee uses a knife or blade for work tasks, then the business owner should replace dull blades often to reduce the risk of workplace injuries. If you were injured on the job due to a lack of safety gear or safety measures on behalf of your employer, then you may be able to file a workers’ comp claim.


Contusions are bruises or marks on the skin that are caused by trapped blood under the skin’s surface. It occurs when the small blood vessels are crushed but the skin does not break. This type of workplace injury usually happens when objects are dropped on the employee due to improper lifting or safety precautions. It can also occur when an employee runs into something.

Business owners can conduct regular training for proper ergonomics and environmental awareness to avoid contusions at work. They also can also prevent injuries by ensuring that the employee’s workplace is safe. This includes ensuring that all machinery is safe to use and up to date with no dull blades and other potentially hazardous parts. Business owners should conduct regular training sessions to ensure that employees know how to use the equipment properly, and ensure that proper safety precautions are in play.


Burns occur when one’s skin is exposed to electricity, steam, heat, chemicals, radiation, or sublight. These types of workers’ compensation injuries are common in restaurants, manufacturing, and production industries, especially those who are exposed to heat sources and acids or bases as part of the manufacturing process.

A burn can also occur internally if a person inhales chemical fumes or smoke. Employers should take proper precautions to inform their employees on how to handle heat sources and store chemicals. Burn injuries can vary in severity. Therefore, regular training should be provided for employees to ensure they know how to protect themselves against sun exposure, electrical, thermal, and chemical burns. If you were burned on the job because your employer did not properly train you to handle chemicals, or you burned yourself on a chemical or another substance that was carelessly left out, then you may be entitled to a workers’ compensation claim.


A fracture occurs when an employee breaks or fractures a bone at work. Fractures can occur to any bone. They may be caused by any degree in which force or trauma was used. They can also be due to an overuse injury. These types of workers’ compensation injuries mostly occur in jobs that involve manual labor or exposure to heavy machines or equipment. However, fractures and breaks can occur in any job industry.

Employers can make sure their employees are safe by providing adequate training and rest time (if overuse is a concern). For example, employees should receive training on how to operate heavy machinery and ergonomics. A supervisor should also be present while machinery is in operation to look over employees and keep an eye out for possible injuries or overuse injuries. Spills should be cleaned up and workstations should be free of any potentially dangerous equipment that may cause bone breaks and fractures in employees.

Eye Injuries

Eye injuries may occur due to a lack of eye protection on the job. Employees may injure their eyes when they come in contact with chemicals, radiological hazards, mechanical irritants, and other environmental contaminants. However, if employees are trained to work safely and follow safety requirements, they are much less likely to suffer from eye injuries.

Employers should provide adequate training related to eye injuries and how they can be prevented in the workplace. If you have suffered from an eye injury at work due to lack of safety equipment or procedures provided, then seek the legal guidance of a workers’ compensation attorney to determine whether you have a case.

Continuous or Cumulative Trauma

Continuous or cumulative trauma refers to a catch-all phrase describing the degradation of muscles, joints, tendons, or other body parts due to a repeated work task over a long period of time. These types of workers’ compensation injuries are common among people who have worked in manual labor positions for decades. To avoid these types of injuries, employers must ensure that their employees have proper training and recovery in between injuries or soreness as this can help reduce the impact of a more serious overuse injury.

A workers’ compensation claim can protect you if you were involved in a cumulative or continuous trauma injury by covering the cost of medical expenses, lost wages, or rehabilitation costs for those who suffer from a work-related injury or illness. It also provides benefits to your family members if you become sick or injured and cannot work or provide for them any longer. Your employer should provide additional loss control services to help you feel safe at work and reduce the risk of injuries and illnesses. If you have talked to your employer about the lack of safety provided at your job and they have not complied, then contact a workers’ compensation lawyer to determine your next move and gain legal guidance.

How Much Does a Workers’ Compensation Attorney Charge?

Are you worried about how to afford a workers’ compensation attorney? This is a valid concern among many people who get hurt at work. However, like other types of lawyers, a workers’ compensation attorney only charges you when they win your case. Plus, many states place a cap on how much they can make. You will need to discuss what percentage of your settlement your workers’ compensation attorney will make after they win your case before hiring them.

For example, most lawyers work off something known as a “contingency basis.” This means that a lawyer will only charge you if they win your case, and they will “charge” you by taking a cut of your settlement money. If you lose your case, then there is no fee for working with a lawyer.

Contingency fee arrangements allow the injured worker an opportunity to receive quality legal representation, even if they have limited financial resources. This is because there is no up-front fee or payment when you hire a lawyer based on contingency. Many states have laws that protect victims by placing a cap on the percentage that a lawyer can take from your settlement. They also require lawyers to approve the fees they charge you if your case wins. This means that you won’t be charged money that isn’t approved by the state.

What Are The State Rules On Workers’ Compensation Fees?

The regulations and laws associated with attorney fees vary from state to state. Most of the time, a judge will approve the fee before the lawyer takes a cut from your settlement. They will take into account the compilation of the case, the time and work your lawyer put into the case, how much money you settled for, and the final result of your claim. Many states will set a cap on the total amount an attorney makes.

This number can range from 10 to 20 percent of your settlement. However, some states will set a higher limit of at least 25 percent while others don’t place a cap on this percentage at all. Cases that are settled before going to court will usually result in a lower percentage than cases that require a court hearing. This is because the lawyer will have to put in more work, and you will likely win more money.

According to one report, injured workers stated that their lawyers took about an average of 15 percent of their settlement or awards. The same report found that workers who hired a workers’ compensation lawyer received about 30 percent more in compensation than those who filed a claim without a lawyer. This means that hiring a lawyer will likely get you more money, but you will have to pay them a portion of what you settle for.

Some states do not allow lawyers to charge fees for basic benefits, such as cases that involve medical bills or lost wages that the employer and insurance agency has not disputed. Additionally, some states allow lawyers to ask the judge to have the other party pay for their fees. This applies to certain situations, such as when the employer or insurance agency has engaged in very bad behavior, refused to pay benefits that have already been granted, or have caused a delay in the case. Some state laws don’t allow percentage caps on certain fees, which are often called penalties or sanctions. This is because they don’t come out of your settlement.

Along with attorney’s fees, here are some other out-of-pocket fees you might have to pay when you file a workers’ compensation claim:

Keep in mind that the above costs are not covered by the fee agreement your attorney gets. Most law firms will pay some of these fees as they come up, but you will have to reimburse them after you win your case (if you win). Some lawyers may charge for these things even if you lose your case. You will want to discuss things like who is going to pay for the lawyer's travel before you sign any agreements to work with them.

Also, make sure you understand what your settlement agreement covers, whether the attorney will cover these fees as they come up and if you have to pay them back. You will also want to get an estimate of a typical invoice for someone who hires a workers’ compensation attorney for a case like yours.

You can determine how much money your lawyer will be paid out by providing them with a clear explanation of the fees you will be charged when you first meet with them. In states that cap an attorney’s compensation, lawyers will usually charge that amount. For example, if your state has a percentage cap of 20 percent, then that’s what most lawyers in that state will charge. However, you can ask your attorney to handle your case for less. It never hurts to ask. Be sure to negotiate the terms and conditions before you sign the fee and representation agreements.

Is It Worth It To Hire A Workers’ Compensation Lawyer?

The workers’ compensation process is very complicated. Insurance companies will try to do everything they can to reduce their costs and benefits that they have to pay you. They love when an injured person tries to represent themselves because they know it means that they will have to pay you less money. Hiring legal representation guarantees that you’ll earn more money for your claim as opposed to representing yourself, especially if your case goes to court.

If you are considering hiring a workers’ compensation attorney or you have had a claim denied, then ask for a free consultation with a lawyer. Talking to a lawyer should be the first thing you do when you get injured. They can provide free advice and will help you make the next steps. If you decide to hire them, they will make it much easier for you to get the money you deserve. Most people find that hiring an attorney is worth it, even after attorney fees. This is because a lawyer will handle most of your case for you while you concentrate on getting better. You’ll end up making more money after you hire a lawyer than you would have on your own.

How To Find a Workers' Comp Lawyer Near Me

It’s easy to find a workers’ compensation lawyer near you. All you have to do is run a Google search to “find a lawyer near me.” However, finding an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer who is trustworthy is the key to winning your case and getting as much money as possible. If you’ve suffered a serious work injury or illness, then it’s almost always a good idea to hire a lawyer. This ensures that you’ll get all the benefits you deserve.

Workers’ compensation claims are complex and highly specialized. Therefore, finding a good lawyer is imperative. However, it’s not always easy to find a good lawyer. Before you hire anyone, you will want to make sure your attorney is experienced in workers’ compensation claims and has a proven track record as opposed to someone who has only dabbled in the industry. You will want to pay attention to things like years of experience, attention to detail, depth of knowledge, and trustworthiness. These are things that are hard to detect from marketing or advertisements alone. Here are some tips for finding the best workers’ compensation lawyer near you:

     1. Ask for recommendations from people you know.

You can probably find a workers’ compensation attorney by turning on the TV or watching an advertisement on social media. However, many good workers’ comp attorneys don’t advertise or spend a lot of money on marketing. Therefore, they depend on word of mouth and referrals from satisfied customers to gain your business.

You’re much more likely to find a good workers’ compensation attorney by asking friends and family with experience rather than trusting an ad you see online. You can also ask your state and local bar associations for referrals. Many legal aid offices will provide leads, too.

     2. Be leery of what you read on the internet

The internet can be a good source of information, but use it wisely and take what you read with a grain of salt. This is true of anything you read on the internet, and not just research on workers’ compensation lawyers. Many injured workers find their workers’ compensation lawyers online. If you’ve identified what kind of lawyer you need and where, you might notice that ads are starting to pop up everywhere you look online. This might cause you to click on a link for an attorney and read about them, which is a good way to do your own research. But remember that not everything you read about a law firm might be true.

Look for more information about a particular workers’ compensation attorney before hiring them. Don’t base all of your information about the law firm based on their ad alone as this might not be an accurate representation of the company. It helps to study the attorney’s website to see if it lists workers’ comp as one of their specialties. Check the website for other testimonials and reviews from past clients.

Does the law firm look like they have a long-standing track record of happy clients? How long have they been in business? Perform a Google search of your potential lawyer to gain an appropriate amount of information about their level of knowledge, professionalism, and experience. You can also check their social media pages to see what kind of feedback they have gotten from the public. Use the internet to gather as much information as you can, and use this information however you see fit. But don’t make a decision based on what you read online alone.

     3. Treat the first meeting with your potential lawyer as a job interview

When you first meet with a workers’ compensation lawyer that you may want to hire, treat that initial meeting as a job interview. You are the employer and the lawyer you are meeting with is the potential hire. Most workers’ compensation lawyers will meet with you for free before you hire them. Lawyers will do a good amount of question-asking during this initial meeting to learn more about your case.

However, you will want to ask just as many questions to make sure you hire the right lawyer. Keep in mind that this initial meeting is a job interview for the lawyer. They should want to take your case so that they can make money off your settlement. At the same time, you will want to hire a lawyer that can get you the maximum amount of money. This will require a lot of question-asking from both parties. Here are some questions you can ask the lawyer you meet with:

     4. Make sure the attorney treats you with respect and does not talk down to you

Your initial free consultation with a workers’ compensation attorney is a good time to evaluate the lawyer’s demeanor and professionalism when it comes to handling your case. You will want to hire someone you can trust and that you get along with as you may be working with them for a long time, depending on your claim process and if the insurance company denies it. A well-qualified attorney will answer all of your questions and will listen to and address your concerns. If you have to meet with several lawyers before hiring, then pick the one that makes you feel like you can trust them and that they want to handle your case to the best of their ability.

Also, pay attention to how the lawyer treats his or her administrative assistants, legal team, and paralegals in their office. You will likely be interacting with them on a regular basis. If they treat you poorly or do not return your phone calls, then take your business elsewhere. Likewise, if the lawyer that you are considering hiring treats his or her team rudely, go somewhere else. There should be no room in your claim for rude behavior.

Communication is also important. As your claim progresses, your lawyer should keep you updated on the status of your claim. Your lawyer should be in constant communication with you. If you barely hear from them, then tell them about your concerns. If you have to tell them several times that you want to hear from them more, then you may want to go somewhere else. However, before you switch lawyers during your case, check out the consequences below. Also, reread the section about what a good lawyer should do for you before you hire an attorney.

Can I Switch Workers’ Comp Lawyers During My Case?

If you aren’t happy with your workers’ compensation lawyer, then you can always switch lawyers even if you are in the middle of your case. However, before you fire your lawyer, make sure you know the consequences of doing so. First, firing a lawyer in the middle of your case might make it harder to find another lawyer to work for you. Many lawyers consider it a red flag if you fire a lawyer halfway through your case, and they may be reluctant to work with you. Additionally, many lawyers know that they would make less money after they have been hired to replace another attorney.

Also, consider why you want to fire your lawyer. In some cases, it might not be better to hire a new lawyer. If your lawyer is rude to you, doesn’t return your calls, or lacks experience in workers’ compensation claims, then you are correct for firing them. However, if there are delays in your case, then it could be easy to blame your lawyer when it’s not their fault at all. Make sure you know where the delays are coming from before you fire your lawyer if you are frustrated. There may be things that are out of your lawyer’s hands and will not get better just by switching lawyers.


Q: Is it worth getting a workers’ compensation lawyer?

A: If you have been injured at work or become sick due to an incident at work, then it’s almost always worth it to get a workers’ compensation lawyer. This is because a lawyer can represent you and give you legal advice when it comes to filing a workers’ compensation claim. They can also tell you what to do if your claim is denied or your employer starts treating you differently after the accident. Hiring a workers’ compensation lawyer also ensures that you will get more money from your claim. Most of the time, you will not pay any fees until your lawyer wins your case, which can help take any financial obligations out of the picture.

Q: What does a workers’ compensation lawyer do you for?

A: A workers’ compensation lawyer will communicate with your employer and their insurance company during a claim so that you don’t have to. They will also gather medical documents and other evidence for your case to support your claim, negotiate a fair settlement, and represent you if your case goes to court.

Q: Why get an attorney for workers comp?

A: The workers’ compensation process is designed to provide injured workers with lost wage benefits, medical coverage, and more. However, insurance companies are known for trying to get out of paying benefits to injured workers. They will conduct investigations and pull strings to ensure that they have to pay as little as possible. Many insurance companies will try to put off your claim long enough so that you will settle for less. An attorney will fight the insurance company for you to ensure that you get the money you deserve to get better and make a full recovery. They will handle all legal aspects and talk to your employer for you, ensuring that the case moves along as expected and that you don’t settle for less than you deserve.

Q: What percentage does a workers’ compensation lawyer get?

A: The exact percentage that your workers’ compensation lawyer will make from your settlement varies. Some states have a cap when it comes to the amount that a lawyer can charge. In these instances, most lawyers will charge whatever the cap is. However, you can expect to pay between 10 and 25 percent to your lawyer for their work. Remember that lawyers work off contingency, meaning that you don’t pay them until they win your case. It’s a good idea to go over fees before you hire a workers’ compensation lawyer so that you know exactly what you’ll be charged for, whether or not your case settles. You may still be responsible for paying some fees if your case doesn’t settle. Be sure to go over this information with your lawyer when you initially meet them for a free consultation.

Q: When should I file a workers’ compensation claim?

A: The best time to file a workers’ compensation claim is immediately after the accident or incident. If you wait too long after the incident, the insurance company will think that you are not really hurt or injured. There are some instances in which you can file your claim up to six months to three years after it happens, such as when you are traveling or there has been an honest mistake. However, the sooner you can file your workers’ compensation claim, the better.

Q: What happens if I get caught working while on workers comp?

A: If you are collecting workers comp benefits because you are too injured or sick to work, and you get caught working, then you may be accused of fraud - especially if you are performing work that you claim you cannot do. If this happens, then you may have to pay a fine or spend time in jail. Your workers' comp benefits will almost always be revoked.

Q: What qualifies as a permanent disability?

A: A permanent disability refers to a physical or mental illness or injury that affects your life long-term, preventing you from recovering and working a normal job. You will need to prove that you have reached maximum medical improvement from your doctor. The insurance company will also need to see any other medical documents that pertain to your injury or illness. If you are seeking permanent disability, then be sure to hire a lawyer who has experience in this area of workers’ comp.

Q: Can I still work if I am on disability?

A: Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) payments will be revoked if you become engaged in what they call “substantial gainful activity.” In other words, if you earn more than $1,310 per month or $2,190 if you are blind, then you may no longer qualify for social security disability benefits.

Q: How much money can you get from a workers’ compensation settlement?

A: The amount of money that you are eligible for depends on several factors, including the details surrounding your incident or injury, how severe the incident was, how quickly you reported it, if you have a lawyer, and the insurance company’s response. However, the average payout that most employees get for their workers’ compensation settlement is around $20,000, but this number can range anywhere from $2,000 to $40,000.

Q: What are my rights if I get hurt on the job?

A: If you get hurt or fall ill while on the job, then you have the right to file a claim for your illness or injury in a workers’ compensation court or the state’s industrial court. You also have the right to see a doctor and pursue medical treatment for your injury or illness. If your doctor releases you to return to work, then you have the right to return to your job if you want. If not, then you have the right to obtain a lawyer and pursue benefits to help cover the cost of your medical treatment. You also have the right to obtain benefits for lost wages as well as pain and suffering treatment.

Q: Does workers’ compensation affect future employment?

A: You might be wondering how having a workers’ compensation claim affects your future work and employment opportunities. Keep in mind that filing a workers’ compensation claim should not affect your future employment. A workers’ compensation claim cannot be held against you if you decide to work in the future after your claim settles. This is because obtaining compensation for an injury that you sustained on the job is your right as an employee. If you have been denied a job because of a past workers’ compensation claim, then the employer has violated your rights and you should seek the legal help of a lawyer.

Q: Does workers’ compensation show up on background checks?

A: Yes, a background check in most states will reveal if you have received workers’ compensation. This is because an employee’s claim goes through the state system or the Workers Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB), it becomes accessible through public records. However, this information cannot be held against you if you decide to apply for employment in the future. Workers’ compensation should have no effect on your future employment.

Q: Can my employer legally attend a workers’ compensation doctor appointment?

A: Many injured workers have inquired whether or not their employer has the right to attend their doctor appointments. If your employer insists on coming with you to your doctor’s appointments, then you’ll be happy to know that they are NOT required to come. You have the right to tell your employer that they cannot attend your doctor appointments as this is an invasion of your legal rights and privacy. Your employer never has the right to come with you to your doctor appointments if you do not want them to. This is an intrusion of privacy, and there is no law that permits your employer to come with you to your medical appointments. If your employer insists on coming, then you can have them talk to your attorney and they will make it clear that this is not allowed.

Q: Can you get fired due to a work injury?

A: If you recently became sick or injured at work, and you file a workers’ compensation claim, your employer cannot fire you. However, if your employer fires you and then you file a workers’ compensation claim, then there is a good chance the insurance company will not approve your claim. This is because the insurance company will think that the only reason you filed a claim was to get back at your employer. This is why it’s important to make sure you file a claim and report your injury to your employer as soon as possible.

Q: Can I be forced back to work after an injury?

A: You cannot be forced back into work if you are injured, even if you have received a notice of ability to return to work from your employer. If you receive one of these notifications, then contact your workers’ compensation lawyer as soon as possible and let them handle your employer.

Q: How long do I have to see a doctor after a workplace injury?

A: The length that you will be required to receive medical treatment or see a doctor will depend on your injury and your doctor's orders. If you have suffered a severe or long-lasting illness, then you will likely have to see your doctor for longer than if your injury was less severe. The average length of time that an injured worker usually sees their doctor after an accident is around 30 days. You may be required to see your employer’s doctor for 30 days and then you can see the doctor of your choice after this. The terms and conditions of your claim should be handled by your lawyer.

Sometimes you can handle a personal injury claim by yourself through insurance or a Small Claims Court if your injuries are minor. However, hiring a personal injury lawyer can make a big difference in processing your claim and handling all legal aspects of the accident.

If you have been injured in a car accident, bitten by a dog, or slipped and fallen on someone else’s property, then it might be time to seek the advice of a qualified legal professional. This article discusses when to hire a personal injury lawyer, and how to find one near you.

What is a Personal Injury Lawsuit?

A personal injury lawsuit is a legal dispute that occurs when someone suffers harm or an injury as a result of someone else. If someone else is legally responsible for your accident, then you may have a personal injury lawsuit on your hands.

The person who is responsible for your injuries will need to have their insurance company pay for your medical bills, including pain and suffering bills and other ongoing medical expenses. If your personal injury lawsuit involves medical malpractice, then you may want to hire an attorney to work with the insurance company and hospital lawyers.

A personal injury lawyer can help you formalize your case by representing you in a civil court proceeding. Court sessions are designed to find others who are legally at fault through a court judgment, which may include disputes that can be resolved through informal settlements before a lawsuit is filed.

There are two possible outcomes of a personal injury lawsuit, which occurs when you need medical treatment for an injury involving property damage or a car accident. We’ve listed them below:

1. Formal lawsuit

A formal lawsuit occurs when a private person (known as the plaintiff) files a civil complaint against another person, corporation, business, or government agency (known as the defendant).

Formal lawsuits are not the same as criminal lawsuits, which are initiated by the government. These lawsuits allege that the plaintiff acted carelessly or irresponsibly, causing injury or harm to the defendant. Filing a formal lawsuit usually requires the help of a personal injury lawyer.

2. Informal settlement

An informal settlement refers to settling a dispute over an injury or accident before it goes to court. Informal settlements are settled early among the people who were involved in the dispute, as well as the attorneys representing both sides.

A settlement refers to a negotiation and a written agreement where both sides agree not to take any further action, such as filing a lawsuit. Instead, people who agree to an informal settlement agree to resolve the dispute through an agreed-upon payment, usually by the person who is responsible for the injury or accident.

What Does Statute of Limitations Mean?

A plaintiff only has a limited amount of time to file a lawsuit. This is known as a statute of limitations. Most of the time, the period of time dictated by the statute of limitations will begin when the plaintiff becomes injured or first discovers their injury.

They must find a personal injury lawyer within that time frame to sue for damages and lost wages. Once the plaintiff starts the lawsuit, they are no longer limited to a timeframe to present their case or have the other person’s insurance pay you out if you win the case.

State laws are responsible for regulating statutes of limitations, and they vary depending on the type of injury and state you are located in. For example, the statute of limitations for a person who becomes injured in Texas is two years. A person who suffers from a sex crime has a statute of limitations of five years and one year of slander or libel.

Personal injury laws mostly take place through court decisions, unlike other areas of law that are controlled by statutes, including penal codes through criminal cases. Personal injury cases are also controlled by treatises that are written by legal scholars.

Some states will summarize personal injury development laws in written statutes. However, for practical purposes, court decisions will remain the primary source of the law for any case that arises from an injury or accident. A personal injury lawyer can help explain these rules to you.

What Does Compensation From A Personal Injury Settlement Cover?

Personal injury lawsuits are designed to help cover compensation (also known as “damages) for the harm that you have suffered in an accident. The idea behind compensation is that the person who was hurt does not have to deal with the financial burden of someone else’s negligence.

There are several types of damages you can collect in a personal injury lawsuit. Some are economic and refer to specific costs that you have to deal with after an injury. Others are non-economic and refer to more subjective damages. The amount available and what is limited depends on where you live and where the injury took place.

Here are some common types of compensation that you can get from a personal injury settlement:

Medical Bills

If you were involved in a personal injury accident, then you might need help paying your medical bills. This may include hospital says, testing, treatment, and outpatient care to treat your injuries.

Medical bills may also be required on a more permanent basis, especially if you suffered permanent or serious injuries. This may include therapy or injection shots for pain, which can be expensive and time-consuming.

Injured persons can face thousands or even hundreds of thousands of dollars in medical bills. Ideally, your personal injury settlement should cover all of this.

Lost Wages

If you were injured and had to miss work, you should be compensated for it. This includes if it was just a small matter of time when you had to go to a doctor’s appointment or maybe you were taken to the hospital and had to take a few days off.

Your settlement should cover these days that you had to miss work. It should also cover you if you can no longer work because you were permanently injured. Lost wages should be covered by your personal injury settlement.

Pain and Suffering Damages

Pain and suffering damages are determined by the depth of the pain and suffering you’ve incurred as a result of someone else’s negligence. This may include the type of injury you have and the medical treatment needed.

Pain and suffering damages can exceed a million dollars in a trial with a jury. However, to get this type of compensation, you’ll need to have as much evidence as possible to prove that the impact of the accident caused by someone else qualifies you to get more money.

You will need to supply medical records that can show your diagnosis, prescriptions, hospital stays, and clinical visits to help determine the type of coverage you’ll get. This only works if you are proactive about your treatment and seek medical treatment from your physician in a very detailed manner. It helps to take pictures and videos of your injuries and keep written records of your symptoms each day.

By gathering enough information to accurately represent your condition, you will be providing to the courts or insurance adjuster that you need additional money for the pain and suffering you’re enduring. Keep in mind that in court, there is no single standard measure to assess a dollar amount for pain and suffering. However, you can receive a multiplier calculation on the internet if you research the topic.

A jury could determine that you are eligible for pain and suffering based on only subjective factors, such as the plaintiff’s testimony and even whether or not they like the plaintiff. However, having written records and other evidence can help boost your chances of getting more money for these subjective factors.

Emotional Damage

Emotional distress refers to the type of compensation that you get when you have been injured in an accident and experience mental and emotional damage. It’s based on the theory that a person’s injury doesn’t just pertain to their physical injuries.

Someone who sustains a personal injury accident could experience anything from depression and anxiety to severe emotional trauma, such as post-traumatic stress disorder. This depends on the severity and nature of the accident.

Getting compensated for emotional damage support requires you to work with a therapist and gain accurate records from them. Most of the time, you will also need to be diagnosed with a specific condition.

Wrongful Death

Wrongful death damage refers to civil actions that can be filed by the survivors of anyone who has been killed in an accident due to someone else’s negligence. This is because survivors of someone who has died are left without the support, love, and income of their deceased family member, and they can be awarded compensation from the courts.

Compensation for wrongful death can be awarded to ease the financial burdens linked to the loss of a loved one. It’s designed to cover the costs of lost income, other bills, and funeral expenses that survivors must face due to the death of their loved one. This compensation can also help cover other aspects of wrongful death areas, such as the unnecessary and sudden loss of someone’s parent or spouse.

The law generally refers to “lost parental instruction, guidance, and companionship” for children who lose their parents to an accident caused by someone else. This brings us to our next type of personal injury damage.

Loss of Companionship

You might be entitled to loss of companionship or loss of consortium if you or a loved one are in an accident and suffered an injury to an extent that you can’t continue with a complete relationship with your spouse or partner. This applies if the person affected by an accident is either you or your loved one. It also encompasses the death of either you or your loved one due to an accident caused by someone else.

Punitive Damages

Punitive damages refer to making an example of the defendant. Claimants in some states could be entitled to punitive damages, which refers to an award that punishes the person who injured you if their actions were severely dangerous. This damage is different from other types of compensation for damages, which are designed to help the injured person pay for medical expenses.

A punitive damage award punishes the person who injured you, and it also serves as an example for others who engage in the same activity. The actions of the defendant must either be intentional or as a result of willful misconduct for the courts to award this type of compensation.

For example, if an insurance company of a defendant behaves poorly or in bad faith, or a medical professional commits malpractice, you might be entitled to punitive damages. It should be noted that not every state allows for these damages. Those that do have caps on how much a person can get from punitive damages.

How To Handle Your Own Personal Injury Case

Before attempting to handle your own personal injury claim, it’s important to know what could go wrong if you mishandle the case. Handling a personal injury case wrong could complicate the claim process and prevent you from getting the financial help you need.

If you’re not sure how to handle a personal injury claim, then consider contacting a personal injury lawyer right after your injury to determine if it’s worth the cost. We’ve listed a few examples of personal injury cases that you might be able to handle by yourself without an attorney’s help.

     1. When you live in a no-fault state

If you live in a no-fault state, then you cannot sue unless your injuries exceed a certain level. This is usually determined by location, the nature of your injuries, or how much it costs to treat them.

No-fault claims limit you to recovering lost damages from your own personal injury protection coverage by yourself. This means that hiring a personal injury lawyer might not be worth it.

However, you might want to consider hiring a personal injury lawyer in a no-fault state if your injuries are severe enough to determine if you are eligible to step outside of the no-fault system.

     2. When you were in a car accident with minor injuries

Auto accident claims are one of the primary reasons for hiring a personal injury lawyer. However. if you were in a car accident with minor or no injuries, then you might not need to hire a lawyer.

If someone rear-ended you at a low speed and caused minor injuries to you or your car, then you might be able to handle the claim by yourself.

As long as the injuries sustained to you and your passengers are minor, and you only require a few medical visits, then your insurance company should be able to handle this.

Specifically, your insurance should be able to cover the costs of repairing your vehicle and medical visits. If you are satisfied with the service you receive from your insurance company, then there is no need to seek legal advice or call a personal injury lawyer.

     3. When you’re confident you can learn about the settlement and legal process of a claim

Settling a personal injury claim by yourself can be hard. There is a lot of information to process, especially when it comes to auto accidents. If you’re comfortable with the legal aspects of a personal injury claim and don’t feel like you need to seek expert advice, then you might not need a lawyer.

However, researching this information on your own can be time-consuming and frustrating. Many people do not have the time or energy to do it, which is why hiring a personal injury lawyer can help.

If you find yourself getting frustrated researching personal injury claims and car accidents - especially fault and legal liabilities, compensation for different types of damage, and state laws that may affect your case - then it might be time to hire a legal professional.

     4. When you’re confident you can negotiate with an insurance adjuster

You might be able to handle a personal injury claim by yourself if you are comfortable negotiating with an insurance agent. You’ll need to reach a settlement that you feel is far.

If your personal injury case goes to a Small Claims Court, then you can use the information you researched to represent yourself in the legal process. If not, then consider hiring an attorney.

     5. When you’ve already received the maximum amount available

Insurance companies will only pay you the maximum amount on your policy limits. For example, if the person who injured you has a maximum insurance policy of $100,000, and you’ve been offered a $100,000 settlement, then you won’t need to hire a lawyer to try to get more money for you.

Any additional money than what the insurance company offers would need to come from the person who injured you directly. If they have assets or money, then it might be worth hiring an attorney to try to collect additional money if you believe you deserve it.

However, if the person who injured you does not have assets or additional money, then you might want to accept the insurance money without hiring an attorney.

When To Hire A Personal Injury Lawyer

When you make a claim against an insurance company, they will have attorneys representing and fighting for them. Lawyers spend years studying the law, and they are the most reliable professionals to turn to when you need legal advice.

If the insurance company or party you filed against takes you to court or has legal representation, then you might want to hire a personal injury lawyer to help you deal with these tricky situations. Here’s when to hire a personal injury lawyer.

     1. When your injuries are more severe than you thought

Many people will avoid hiring a lawyer if they only have minor injuries after an accident. If you got into a car accident, and only bruised your arm or suffered a few small cuts, then you might not need legal representation.

You might not need to hire a personal injury attorney if the insurance company of the other party involved offers to pay for your medical bills and give you money on top of that.

However, you may still find it beneficial to speak to a lawyer even if your injuries seem to be mild. Keep in mind that minor injuries at first may turn into more severe ones. This happens a lot.

For example, if your injuries turn out to be worse than expected, and you already accepted an offer from an insurance company, there is nothing you can do. In this instance, hiring a lawyer right away would have been a good idea because they could have advised you to wait until you know the full extent of your injuries before accepting an insurance offer.

     2. When you’re entitled to “pain and suffering damages”

If your case goes to court, then you might be eligible to receive pain and suffering and emotional distress compensation for damages that occurred during your accident. This means that a settlement that does not include these damages might not be complete.

A personal injury lawyer can explain all of this to you. They can also help you receive a fair settlement that includes everything you’re entitled to, including pain and suffering damages.

     3. When you suffer from serious injuries

You absolutely need to hire a personal injury lawyer if you sustain serious injuries during an accident. This is because your lawyer can help make sure you receive the full range of benefits you’re entitled to.

Lawyers are experts when it comes to negotiation, and this skill can help maximize your recovery. Keep in mind that insurers and defendants will take your claim more seriously if you hire an attorney. Otherwise, the defendant’s insurance company may try to get you to reach a settlement that is less than what you are entitled to.

What Kinds of Cases Do Personal Injury Lawyers Handle?

You can hire a personal injury lawyer to handle several different types of negligence cases. Examples include truck or car accidents, aviation accidents, legal or medical malpractice, wrongful death cases, child daycare negligence, and more. Negligence occurs when a person else does not use care to avoid causing injury or loss to someone else. Most of the time, negligence occurs when one person injures another.

Here is an example of a negligence case. A vehicle driver or motorist carelessly operates a vehicle and causes damage to another driver or pedestrian. This may occur either by crashing into them or hitting them while they walk on the sidewalk. Here are some other examples of negligence that quality for the help of a personal injury lawyer:

Other types of personal injury cases may include elderly miscare, defective products, or workplace accidents. This brings us to our next section.

Common Examples of Personal Injury Cases

Here are some common examples of personal injury cases that a lawyer can help you with:

Motor Vehicle Accidents

Motor vehicle accidents refer to trucks, cars, boats, and motorcycles, as well as other vehicles that might injure another person. Most of the time, these accidents occur as a result of someone else’s negligence, and the damages from these accidents can have deadly or lifelong impacts. This includes accidents that might not seem like they are that bad when they happen as many injuries become worse over time.

A personal injury for a motor vehicle lawsuit would be able to help provide compensation for immediate medical bills, such as those that occur from the crash as well as future medical expenses, including rehabilitation. You can also collect damages for lost wages if you were hurt and unable to return to work. If you lose the ability to work, then you can collect for compensation as well as for the emotional and physical damage you’ve endured because of the accident.

For example, if you are a motorcyclist and you were hit head-on by a drunk driver who was driving in the wrong lane, and you sustained life-altering injuries, then you would be eligible for lifelong expenses as medical bills and loss of earning potential can add up quickly. 

Slip and Fall Accidents

Slip and fall accidents are a bigger deal than you may think. Most people don’t just fall without a reason. If you slip and fall on someone else’s property and sustain an injury that could have been avoided if the property owner had taken better care of their facility, then you could earn compensation for this.

Here are some examples that may occur during a slip and fall accident:

These types of accidents may result in an injury that lingers, which leads to costly medical bills and time away from work to go to your doctor appointments. An attorney can help cover these costs and lost wages by using photos, videos, and medical records to prove that someone else’s negligence caused your injuries. You should not have to suffer because someone else did not keep their property safe for visitors.

Birth Injuries and Complications

Birth injuries and complications are especially hard for family members. A mistake made by a medical professional can cause injuries to a newborn that may be long-lasting or permanent, such as paralysis, cerebral palsy, or brain issues. This is a tragedy for both parents and children involved, and it puts major financial stress on the family.

A personal injury lawyer can help you get the money you need to support your family and newborn if your child was injured during birth due to the lack of care by a medical professional. Compensation for birth injuries may include tangle and intangible damages, such as permanent medical bills lasting the entirety of the injured’s life and loss of life’s enjoyment for your child.

For example, if your child was injured due to a delayed C-section, then you may be entitled to compensation. Compensation doesn’t make up for the injuries your child has sustained, but you are entitled to help when it comes to paying for medical bills and taking time away from work to care for your child who was injured by someone else’s mistake.

Wrongful Death Claims

A wrongful death case is an unnecessary tragedy. Getting compensated for these types of terrible personal injury accidents can fall under a few different categories, as long as they are caused by someone else. You might be entitled to compensation for current and ongoing medical bills as well as lost wages that you can get in any personal injury case.

You might also be entitled to wrongful death compensation if you are the survivor of someone who died due to someone else’s negligent behavior. In these instances, a plaintiff can seek compensation to cover funeral expenses. They can also seek compensation to account for the enduring and sudden loss of household income due to the death of someone who contributed financially.

Wrongful death compensation also takes into account pain and suffering damages as well as loss of companionship. These benefits cannot bring your loved one back, but they can bring you some peace of mind after a sudden loss as well as provide financial relief if it’s needed. It’s important for survivors of deceased loved ones to act immediately to gain the most compensation for their claim. This can be difficult to do while you are grieving, but it’s the best way to ensure you’ll get the justice you deserve. An attorney can help you with the details during these sensitive times.

Spinal Cord and Brain Injuries

Spinal cord and brain injuries are some of the worst types of injuries you can sustain from a motor vehicle and other personal injury accidents. Personal injury cases that involve brain and spinal cord injuries may cause permanent physical damage or mental damage in the form of paralysis, cognitive impairment, and more.

If you or a loved one has been injured by another person or company, then you are a victim of their carelessness and entitled to compensation. Trying to hold these parties accountable on your own can be hard, especially while you are dealing with serious injuries. A personal injury lawyer can help you get the compensation you deserve.

A personal injury lawyer can work tirelessly for you. They will use evidence such as photographs, videos, medical records, and other documents along with medical expert depositions to support your claim and get you the money you need to cover damages, such as present and past medical bills, lost wages, time away from work, pain and suffering, and loss of life’s enjoyment.

Fire or Burn Injuries

Burns and injuries sustained due to a fire can be dangerous and life-altering. If you or your loved one sustain injuries due to a fire or a chemical burn due to unsafe working conditions or an apartment fire that occurred from a landlord who did not take proper safety precautions, then you may be entitled to compensation. Apartment fires may occur because a landlord did not install or maintain proper fire safety equipment or measures, such as faulty electrical wiring. This can lead to lifelong injuries that require costly medical care.

Burns can be caused by a scalding beverage or a chemical burn. Even if your injuries heal quickly, you have the right to hold the negligent party accountable for hurting you. Some burns may result in lifelong trauma or scarring, which can also result in costly medical bills for ongoing treatment. You may also have to miss work because of the injuries you sustained. This - coupled with pain and suffering damage that you may have to deal with for the rest of your life - makes you entitled to compensation. 

Whether they happen to you or a loved one, life-changing injuries make you feel angry, but you are not helpless. Hiring a personal injury lawyer can help compensate you and hold the other person responsible for hurting you. If you have suffered a burn or fire injury, then consider hiring a personal attorney who specializes in burns and fire damage.

Dog and Animal Bites

Dog and animal bites might not seem that bad at first, but they can become serious later on or leave lasting scars. If someone else’s pet attacks you, then you can file a lawsuit against the owner and maybe even their homeowner’s insurance.

Dog bites and animal bites are part of a personal injury case that allows you to gain compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and emotional distress support from the accident that injured you at someone else’s hands.

The amount that you are entitled to for a dog or animal bites may depend on the state and jurisdiction. Most of the time, the owner of the animal is responsible for the actions of the animal, whether or not they were aware of their animal’s aggressive behavior. However, in some states, the law will determine the degree of liability on several factors, such as whether or not the person bit provoked the animal. A court of law may also look at where the accident happened.

Lack of Security

If you are injured due to inadequate security practices when you shop at a store, go to a concert, park in a parking garage, or go somewhere public, then you could be eligible to receive compensation. This type of personal injury case also includes death due to lack of security.

In most cases, if you or a loved one is injured or dies on public property due to lack of security, then the property owner will be responsible as long as you can prove that they should have provided security but failed to do so. You would not file the lawsuit against the person who shot, injured, or raped you, but rather against the landlord or property owner.

The property owner’s liability will be determined by factors such as how foreseeable the offense was and if it was preventable. For example, if you were injured during a robbery in a dark parking structure due to lack of security, then the property owner might be responsible. Additionally, if you were attacked in the hall of your apartment because a door or gate should have been locked but it wasn’t, and an outside party entered, then you would be entitled to money.

Here are some other examples of lack of security negligence involved in a personal injury claim:

Sometimes, such as in the case of a mass shooting, assigning blame to a party can be tricky. A personal injury lawyer can help you get to the bottom of complicated cases, such as a mass shooting. Other cases are easier to address, such as an injury due to lack of security measures in a public space or your apartment complex.

How Does A Lawyer Fight A Personal Injury Lawsuit?

Your personal injury lawyer and their legal team are at the frontline of your case. They are responsible for getting you the money you deserve in a personal injury lawsuit. When you first meet with a personal injury lawyer, they should assess your case to determine the best way to fight for you.

This will require your personal injury lawyer to do the following:

Each case is personalized and will require different things from your personal injury lawyer. He or she will use this information to go up against the defendant’s attorney to get you the money you deserve - as much as possible.

If the insurance company or big corporation that you are filing a personal injury lawsuit against won’t budge, then it’s imperative to hire a lawyer to represent you. Personal injury lawyers are trained, experienced, and ready to take your case to court.

They will represent you against the biggest insurance companies and corporations whether you’re in settlement or at court. Lawyers are trained to win over the initial low-ball offers that you will get if you don’t have professional representation behind you.

As the client in a personal injury case, there are several things you can do to help your lawyer win your case. First, don’t admit fault for your injury. This goes against once your lawyer is trying to do - win your case and get you as much money as needed to pay for your medical expenses.

Here are some other things you can do to ensure that you win your case:

Do I Need To Hire A Lawyer If I Have Insurance?

One of the main reasons why many people do not hire a lawyer is because they have insurance or the defendant has insurance. You might think that the insurance company is going to look out for your best interest. However, most of the time, insurance companies are not on your side.

For example, your primary goal is to get the most damage coverage possible to compensate you for your medical and auto bills. However, insurance companies want to make sure they pay out as little as possible so that they make more of a profit than you do.

Hiring a lawyer is a good idea because they have been trained to fight for you and go head to head against insurance companies. They know all the “tricks” that an insurance company will try to pull, and they can defend you better than you can defend yourself in a court of law.

In fact, insurance companies know how to intimidate victims in a personal injury claim. That’s what they do for a living. They may tell you things like you were to blame for the accident, you can’t prove the long-term physical and mental impact of your injury in court, or your doctor’s assessment isn’t adequate enough to settle your claim and you need to get an assessment by one of their approved healthcare professionals. 

If the insurance companies tell you any of these things, it’s imperative to hire a personal injury lawyer who can defend you. Insurance companies will use every tool they have to tie up your claim to make you desperate enough for money to pay your medical bills and living expenses that you will settle for an amount that is much less than what you really deserve.

Hiring a personal injury lawyer with a reputation for winning against insurance companies can help make sure you don’t settle for less. People who have been injured in an accident or who have filed a worker’s compensation claim need a lawyer with a reputable firm on their side to win their case. Doing so ensures that you will have a much better chance of winning the amount of money you deserve. Insurance companies know that picking a fight with an experienced lawyer will cost them more money in legal fees than what the claim is worth to them.

Keep in mind that legal fees are only present if the injured person has hired a lawyer that will fight for them. If you do not have an attorney, then the insurance company won’t have to factor in legal fees to their cost-benefit analysis. This means that hiring a lawyer isn’t only beneficial - it’s imperative to your case.

How Do I Afford a Lawyer?

Another reason why people do not want to hire a lawyer is that they are afraid of paying large amounts of money in legal fees. However, almost all personal injury lawyers work on what’s known as a contingency basis.

This means that your personal injury lawyer will not be paid money or legal fees unless you win or settle your case outside of court. A contingency fee agreement allows the lawyer to collect compensation out of your damage award or settlement.

Most of the time, your personal injury lawyer will be paid a percentage of the money you get. For example, your contingency agreement with your personal injury lawyer might state the following:

The amount of money that you are charged generally ranges from between 15 percent and 40 percent of your overall settlement. For example, if you settle on $50,000 from your lawsuit, then your lawyer will get between $12,500 and $20,000. Your lawyer should be able to go over this with you before you hire them.

Remember that a personal injury lawyer won’t charge you unless they win your case. Do not hire a lawyer who wants you to pay upfront fees as these are not necessary and could be a red flag that someone is trying to rip you off.

Why Should I Hire A Personal Injury Lawyer?

In addition to helping you understand legal terms, research shows that hiring a personal injury lawyer can help you get more money. A 1999 study conducted by the Insurance Research Council found that the average claimant will get a settlement 3.5 times larger with the help of a lawyer than without one.

This makes a huge difference if you are in a personal injury settlement because the amount of money you’re edible for by law depends on several factors, such as:

A lawyer can help you navigate these tricky scenarios as they know the law better than anyone. It’s always best to hire a personal injury lawyer if your injury claim is complicated or you are dealing with an insurance company. A lawyer can help make sure that the insurance company pays you everything you’re entitled to. You have the right to a lawyer anytime you get hurt.

How To Find The Best Personal Injury Lawyer Near Me

When picking out a personal injury lawyer, it’s imperative to find one with a proven track record. Find a lawyer that has experience winning personal injury cases, and can provide references that speak to their performance. It also helps to hire an attorney that only specializes in personal injury cases. This ensures that they will have focused the majority of their career handling cases just like yours, and they are more likely to win major settlements.

When searching for a lawyer near you, don’t just pick the closest one. The right attorney for you may require you to travel, but it will be worth it in the end to win your case. For example, you might find that the right attorney for you is out of state. In some cases, your attorney will travel to you, but you will want to find out during the hiring process. Never pay any upfront fees for a lawyer until they win your case. Be wary of any lawyer that asks you to cover upfront fees.

Here are some tips to keep in mind when searching for the best personal injury lawyer near you:

     1. Pick a lawyer or law firm that represents plaintiffs only and does not defend insurance companies

It also helps to choose a law firm or lawyer that limits their practice to personal injury claims and related issues, such as civil sexual assault claims, lawsuits against the makers of drugs, and workers' compensation. Don’t pick a law firm or lawyer that claims to be a “jack of all trades.”

In other words, if you are saying to yourself, “I need an injury lawyer,” then go with one who does just that and nothing else. It’s very hard for lawyers to know all aspects of the law. Narrowing down your search to personal injury lawyers only will help ensure you get the best representation possible.

     2. Determine if the firm or lawyer is respected by other lawyers in the community

Community respect is important when it comes to picking out a lawyer. Many good law firms or lawyers will have a national reputation, so ask around about the lawyer you intend to hire.

You may want to ask around about a personal injury lawyer before hiring them. Consult the internet to seek out people who have personal experience with the law firm. You can also ask for examples of cases they have won.

     3. Check out the reviews

Personal injury lawyers or firms should have good reviews to back up what they claim to do. You should be able to see real-life cases of people who were satisfied with their work and settlement outcome. Be sure to check out a lawyer’s reviews before hiring them.

     4. Determine if they are experienced

Is the lawyer you are interested in experienced in handling a wide variety of personal injury claims? Many people want someone who has experience and is more likely to win your case than someone who is just starting out or doesn’t handle personal injury claims exclusively.

     5. Determine if the lawyer has time for you

This sounds like a silly thing to consider, but it’s important to determine if the lawyer has time for you. In many cities, attorneys will use their personal image to market their firm. However, you may never work with or even meet those lawyers.

Instead, they will assign you a team of junior lawyers to handle your case. Before you hire a lawyer or law firm, make sure that the lawyer you want is the one you get - and that you’re not dealing with a team of inexperienced lawyers.

What Are The Steps In A Personal Injury Lawsuit?

After you have been injured, there are several steps you’ll need to take to set up a personal injury lawsuit. You will want to start by consulting a medical professional and consider a personal injury lawsuit. Follow these steps if you have been in a car accident, slip and fall accident, or another type of personal injury accident.

     1. Contacting a personal injury lawyer

Immediately following your accident, you should contact a personal injury lawyer. Ideally, your personal injury lawyer should be able to come to the scene of the accident or meet you at the hospital if you have a serious injury. This ensures that your lawyer will be there every step of the way and will have all the details they need to win your case. Contacting a lawyer right away will also help determine if your case is eligible for a lawsuit.

     2. Forming your case

Once you find a personal injury lawyer and sign a retainer agreement, your lawyer and legal team will help you start to form your case. They will look over every aspect of your case, including your injuries and the circumstances that caused them. They will also obtain evidence and the necessary legal documents, such as your employment history, wages, family circumstances, and other documents needed to support your claim.

Next, your attorney will send out a demand letter to your insurance company or to the person who injured you detailing your case. This letter will include the damages you’ve experienced and your lawyer will start to set up your settlement negotiations.

     3. Filing your lawsuit

If you are unable to come to an agreement with the person who injured you or your insurance company, then your lawyer will need to file your lawsuit. If this happens, your lawyer will switch gears from obtaining a settlement to getting ready to go to court over a personal injury lawsuit to get you the most money possible.

During a discovery period, both sides of a lawsuit provide documents and other evidence as requested. This is when your personal injury lawyer will go after every piece of documentation and evidence that the other side of the lawsuit has provided to help support your settlement.

     4. Going to trial

A trial is the final step of the personal injury lawsuit journey. It occurs when a case can’t be settled outside of court. Cases that go to trial will appear before a jury and a judge. You will need a personal injury lawyer when your case goes to trial. A personal injury lawyer will argue your case and present evidence that shows you are entitled to compensation. He or she will include interviews with expert witnesses and provide other doctors necessary to win your case.

What You Need To Know About Your Personal Injury Settlement

You can reach a personal injury settlement when your lawyer and the opposing lawyer come to an agreement over the damages that you need to cover lost wages, medical bills, and other expenses. Your settlement amount may vary depending on several factors, including the severity of your injury, the type of accident you were in, whether or not you are employed, and other financial responsibilities you may have due to someone else’s destructive behavior.

Your personal injury lawyer will fight for your case at no charge at first. There are no upfront fees associated with hiring a personal injury lawyer. However, they will take a portion of the money you get from your settlement. Keep in mind that settling a personal injury case can be lengthy. Your lawyer may not accept the first offer, but may go back and forth with counter offers with the opposing party to get you the amount of money you deserve. When you finally settle your case, it could take up to six weeks to get your money.

Most of the time, your settlement money is not taxable. Settlements that are made in a personal injury lawsuit are not taxable under federal or state law. However, there are some exceptions to this rule depending on the circumstances of your claim. For example, if you experience an emotional injury that did not arise from a physical injury, then this money might be taxable. Hiring an attorney can help you determine what portion of your settlement is taxable (if any).

Many personal injury cases settle, especially if you hire a good personal injury lawyer. Insurance companies and opposing parties may try to bully you into settling for an offer that falls short of what your settlement should be worth. A good personal injury lawyer will stand up for you. They should have court experience and be willing to go to court if needed. Finding an experienced lawyer can help ensure that you don’t get a low-ball settlement offer.


Q: When should a personal injury lawyer be used?

A: You should hire a personal injury lawyer if you are involved in an accident in which you get hurt, even if your injuries seem minor at first. This is because many injuries become serious as time goes on, and you may need help covering medical bills. You should also hire a personal injury lawyer if you share fault for your injuries or someone else’s. Most of the time, you can recover money if someone else is to blame for your accident, and a lawyer can help with this.

Q: Is it worth getting a personal injury lawyer?

A: There are certain types of injuries and accidents that almost always require an attorney. However, you may want to consider hiring a personal injury lawyer anytime you are involved in an accident in which you or someone else gets hurt. A lawyer can help you understand the legal aspects of your obligations if you are at fault. They can also help you get the maximum amount of money from an insurance company if someone else is to blame for your injuries. In these cases, hiring a personal injury lawyer is worth the money.

Q: How much does a personal injury lawyer cost?

Personal injury lawyers do not charge for your case unless they win. The percentage that they take from your settlement will vary depending on the lawyer. However, most personal injury lawyer fees are between 30 percent to 40 percent, with 33 percent being the average.

Q: What types of cases does a personal injury lawyer handle?

A: A personal injury lawyer handles cases that involve negligence, such as car or truck accidents, plane accidents, legal or medical malpractice, child daycare accidents, and wrongful death cases. Most people hire a personal injury lawyer if they are in a car accident or get hurt on someone else’s property.

Q: What does a personal injury lawyer do?

A: A personal injury lawyer helps people who have been injured in a car accident recover financial losses. This money can help pay for medical treatment, and make up for pain and suffering, cover lost wages, and provide additional compensation for your injuries.

Q: How is a settlement paid out?

A: You can get paid for a personal injury lawsuit in a single lump sum or as a series of payments. These are usually paid out in the form of a structured settlement, which can be tailored to meet the needs of the person hurt. Once agreed upon or settled, these changes cannot be made.

Q: What are the three types of damages?

A: The three types of damages that you can go after in a personal injury lawsuit include economic damages, non-economic damages, and punitive damages.

Q: Why does it take so long to negotiate a settlement?

A: Settlements can take a long time (several weeks to months) because it takes a while for both parties to come to an agreement. Both parties need to agree upon a number before they will settle. In most cases, parties will refuse offers and make counteroffers, which can delay the time it takes to settle. Insurance companies do not want to pay more than they have to, and injured persons do not want to accept less money than they think their injuries are worth.

Q: How long after a settlement do I get my money?

A: Many legal proceedings can take months or even years before they are settled. For this reason, many people are anxious to get the money from their settlement. While your lawyer can help you determine how long after a settlement you will get your money, it usually takes around six weeks after settling.

Q: How much should I ask for a personal injury settlement?

A: It’s a good idea to ask around 75 percent to 100 percent more than what you would be satisfied with. This means that you won’t be disappointed if you have to settle for lower. For example, if you think your settlement is worth $1,500 to $2,000, then ask for $3,000 to $4,000. If you think your settlement is worth $4,000 to $5,000, then ask for $8,000 to $10,000. You may have to settle for less if you do not have a lawyer. Most of the time, a lawyer can get you more money, but you will need to pay your lawyer after you settle.

Q: Should you accept the first settlement offer?

A: If you are representing yourself, it’s never a good idea to accept your first settlement offer, especially if the settlement involves financial reimbursement for pain and suffering, an injury, or property damage. Instead, it’s a good idea to consult a personal injury lawyer before settling as they can get you more for your claim.

Q: What happens if I reject a settlement offer?

A: If you decline an offer, then it no longer exists and you can’t accept it later on. Most of the time there will be a follow-up offer, but you cannot count on this. Keep in mind that declining a settlement offer means that your case will probably go to trial. Consulting a personal injury lawyer can help you make these big decisions.

Q: What is a fair settlement for pain and suffering?

A: The amount of money you’ll get for pain and suffering depends on several factors, including your case details and how good your lawyer is. However, a typical payout for pain and suffering does not usually exceed $15,000. This is because many pain and suffering claims involve small injuries. The severity of your injury usually plays a big role in determining how much money you’ll get for pain and suffering. Generally, the more severe your injury is, the more you’ll get paid. Therefore, pain and suffering associated with smaller injuries is not something you will be well compensated for.

Q: What is a good settlement offer?

A: The value of your settlement offer depends on several factors that may be specific to your case, including the extent of your medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and more. Many personal injury cases settle for an average of around $3,000 to $75,000. Your lawyer can help you determine your potential earnings before settling. He or she should also be able to tell you what a good settlement offer is, depending on your case.

Q: What are the five elements of negligence?

A: To receive compensation for your personal injury claim, you will need to prove that five elements of negligence caused the damage. These five elements include the following:

  1. Harm - you need to prove that someone else caused you harm, which resulted in the injuries, loss, and other expenses that you had to sustain because of someone else’s negligence
  2. Cause in fact - you will need to prove that there is a link between the negligent or harmful action of someone else and the damage you suffered because of it
  3. Breach - you will need to prove that the accused party violated standard care and caused you or a family member to become injured
  4. Duty - you will need to prove that the person who injured you owed you a duty of care not to harm you or someone you love
  5. Proximate cause - you need to prove that there is a direct link between the harmful act and the injury that you sustained from it

Q: How much is a neck and back injury settlement?

A: Neck and back injuries can be very serious, which makes them one of the highest-paid types of personal injury claims. In some cases, back and neck injury settlements can be worth millions, depending on the nature of the accident, how seriously you were injured, and how extensive your medical bills are. Minor neck and back injuries tend to go for much smaller amounts, such as $10,000 to $100,000. Consulting with a personal injury lawyer can help you determine how much your case is worth before it goes to court.

Q: Why is personal injury law important?

A: The most important part of a personal injury claim is for a lawyer to help clients get the compensation they need and deserve to help them get better, or at least to make up for lost wages and suffering. Personal injury lawyers must follow a strict set of principles regarding their approach to ensure they are exceeding client expectations. Personal injury law helps people who have been hurt, and it can be the difference between earning the help you deserve and not receiving enough treatment.

Q: How are personal injury damages calculated?

A: If you’re wondering how personal injuries are calculated, then you’ll need to factor in a few things, including the details of your injury and accident. Most of the time, your personal injury damages are calculated by the severity of your injuries, whether the case settles in a court, and the underlying details of the accident that hurt you. The extent of your medical treatment also dictates how your personal injury damages are calculated.

Q: What kind of damages is emotional stress?

A: You may experience emotional stress as a result of your accident caused by someone else’s negligence. If so, you may be entitled to compensation that can be used to help you get treatment for emotional stress. Emotional stress refers to monetary damages that encompass the emotional harm that you suffered. For example, if you had sleepless nights or stress in your family relationships due to the accident, then you may be able to get compensation.

Q: How do I prove emotional stress?

A: Proving emotional stress is harder than providing physical damage because you can’t always see it. For example, if you endured sleepless nights and strained relationships due to your accident, this can be hard to prove. However, there are ways you can prove emotional stress in a court of law. You’ll need to provide documentation for your daily activities and how the accident caused damage to them, including symptom onset and duration, the intensity of your emotional stress, and any physical damage that may accompany it. You may also need to prove that the root cause of your emotional stress was the accident you were injured in. Lastly, validation from medical professionals can help prove your emotional stress. You may need to get doctor’s notes and records from them showing that you are seeking treatment for your emotional stress

Q: Does a personal injury settlement count as income?

A: According to the IRS, the full amount of your personal injury settlement is only non-taxable if you did not take an itemized deduction for medical expenses related to your sickness or injury. If your settlement is taxable, then the tax benefit amount needs to be reported as “other income” on line 21 of Form 1040 under Schedule 1. If you have questions about whether or not your settlement is taxable, then ask a lawyer.

Q: Why are personal injury lawyers necessary?

A: A personal injury lawyer is necessary because they can get you the money you deserve if you have been injured by someone else’s negligence. They have been trained to fight insurance companies for you if your case goes to court, and they will ensure you don’t settle for a lesser amount.

Final Thoughts

Hiring a personal injury lawyer is necessary if you have suffered severe injuries due to an accident. There are some instances in which you might not need a lawyer, and we highlighted them in this article.

However, a personal injury lawyer can help ensure that you get all the money you are entitled to. Don’t settle a claim without talking to one first. When picking out a personal injury lawyer, make sure they have a good reputation, experience, and time for you.

If you’ve been injured in a car accident, how long will it take for you to receive a settlement? Unfortunately, there’s no single answer to this question. How long it takes to settle a car accident injury case can vary widely depending on the circumstances of your case. Some cases settle quite quickly, while others drag on-- or even need to go to trial.

While we can’t give a definitive answer regarding how long a car accident settlement takes, we can go over all the factors that affect auto accident settlement timelines. So, below, we’re discussing how each step of the car accident claims process can impact your settlement timeline. Then, we’ll share a few additional factors that can impact your claim timeline.

Car Accident Claim Timeline

Right After The Accident: Medical Treatment & Documentation

Immediately following an accident, there are two important things to do: seek medical care and document the scene. The first, seeking medical treatment, is the most important of all, since you need to take care of your health above all else. From a legal perspective, seeking medical treatment right away is also vital because medical records provide an official documentation of your injuries. Having this documentation can be very important for settling a personal injury claim swiftly and for an amount that’s appropriate. That’s why you should always seek medical care after being injured in an accident. This is true even when you think your injuries aren’t particularly severe, since injuries that seem minor right after an accident can end up being extremely serious at a later date.

Then, gathering information and documentation at the scene of your accident may be one of the most valuable things you can do for your injury claim. Taking the time to do this now may end up saving you quite a lot of time later, since accurate accident scene information can be challenging or impossible to get at a later date. So, it’s a good idea to gather information now or, if you’re too injured to do so yourself, have a loved one do so for you. Examples of the types of information you should gather include the details of all involved vehicles (make, model, license plate), the name and contact information of all involved parties and witnesses), insurance information, photos of the scene, photos of your injuries, and your own recollection of the accident. Note that while accident scene information may also appear on the police report related to your accident, sometimes police reports miss things. That’s why it’s in your best interest to make sure your own records are as accurate and thorough as possible.

Don’t Admit Fault, Apologize, or Say You Aren’t Hurt

After your accident, there are a few things you should avoid saying if you want to protect your rights (and help your injury claim move forward more smoothly and quickly). Don’t admit fault after your accident, even if you think you were at fault. It’s possible that you’re wrong or that another driver could share fault for the accident. Yet, if you say you were responsible, even if that ends up not being true, this can make it very easy for an insurance adjuster to deny your claim. For similar reasons, you also shouldn’t apologize to other involved parties or say you aren’t hurt.

Report Your Accident to the California DMV

Per California law, auto accidents must be reported to the DMV within 10 days if anyone was injured or killed, or if the accident caused more than $1,000 in property damage. Reporting your accident is time sensitive, required by law, and will be relevant to your claim if California auto insurance is involved, so don’t neglect this step in the post-accident process.

Filing Your Car Accident Insurance Claim

The next step in a California accident case is filing your car accident insurance claim. The exact process here may vary depending on your car insurance plan and provider, so contact your insurer for guidance.

Note that even if you think you may be at fault for the accident, it’s best to report it. If another party reports it (even if they perhaps say they won’t) but you do not, this could spell trouble for your driver’s license, your car insurance policy status, and the strength of your accident claim.

Have Your Personal Injury Case Evaluated by an Auto Accident Attorney

In an ideal world, car insurance companies would always approve accident claims quickly and make fair settlement offers after doing so. Of course, that’s almost never the case. Insurance companies are businesses with one goal: to pay out as little money as possible. Insurance companies tend to look for any excuse to deny claims. They’re also known for making ludicrously low settlement offers to unrepresented accident victims. However, if you’ve been seriously injured in an accident, you don’t have to go up against insurance companies all on your own. A personal injury attorney can be your expert advocate during the claims process.

An experienced car accident lawyer can generally settle a case for far more than an injury victim could on their own. A good personal injury attorney will have an in-depth understanding of how a victim’s injuries and accident circumstances interplay with California personal injury law, giving them a strong understanding of the full extent of damages the victim may be entitled to. They’ll also have plenty of experience negotiating with insurance companies and building strong cases, so they’ll know the right strategies to use to maximize settlement amounts. On top of all that, a car accident attorney may also be able to expedite the claims process, since they’ll be able to tackle each step efficiently and address any issues that may be slowing things down.

Negotiating With Insurance Companies

Typically, negotiations are the lengthiest part of the car accident claims process. Insurance companies will usually start this process with a very low offer, initiating negotiations that can last an indeterminate amount of time. On average, negotiations take around two weeks to three months, but this average may not apply to every case. Negotiation time can vary depending on the skill of the negotiator, the complexity of a case, and the evidence available in a case.

Post-Negotiation: Settlement or Litigation

Car accident cases usually resolve with settlements, but sometimes a trial is required for a victim to receive fair and appropriate compensation for their losses. Whether or not an accident case goes to trial has the biggest impact on the time it takes to close it. Generally, settling is always the easier and faster option, and that’s why most cases end in settlements. However, in some cases, an insurance company may refuse to negotiate in good faith. In such instances, a victim may need to go to trial to receive appropriate compensation for their damages. So, while litigation takes longer than settling, filing a personal injury lawsuit is sometimes the best option for an injury victim.

Other Factors That Affect Car Accident Settlement Timelines

Severity of Injury

The severity of a victim’s injuries can impact how long it takes to settle their case. Typically, accidents involving more severe injuries involve larger damages. Getting an insurance company to agree that a large settlement is fair and appropriate can take diligence, research, patience, and perseverance, all of which require extra time.

The Complexity of Liability

So many things can complicate liability in a car accident case, which will in turn affect how long it takes to settle the case. The number of involved parties affects the complexity of liability, since you need to determine how at fault (or not at fault) more parties are. The types of parties involved in an accident can also make things more complicated. For example, different regulations can come into play when an accident involves a professional truck driver, a city bus driver, an Uber or Lyft driver, a food delivery driver, someone driving a company car, and so on.

Proving Damages & Expert Witness Requirements

To get an insurance company to agree to a high settlement amount, you need to prove that the amount is warranted based on the victim’s damages. This involves determining the full scope of economic and non-economic damages, putting a dollar amount to these damages, and assembling proof that the damages occurred and that the dollar amount accurately reflects the damages.

Proving damages can be cut and dry in some cases, but can be complicated in others. In some cases, more research and investigation may need to be done. And, sometimes, reaching an appropriate settlement amount also requires utilizing expert witnesses. If expert witnesses, intense research, or intensive investigation are needed to prove damages in your case, this can extend the time it takes to settle your case.

Intentionally Difficult Individuals and Entities

Unfortunately, some individuals and entities may intentionally make the settlement process difficult. For example, another involved driver may give fake insurance information or false contact information. Or, an insurance company may let the negotiation process drag out for as long as legally possible. This type of action or inaction can slow down the settlement process and be very frustrating. Often, the frustration is the point here-- the goal may be to get a claimant to give up or fail at filing vital paperwork within a specific time frame. While these tactics are always unpleasant to experience, note that an experienced personal injury attorney can often help you deal with these types of roadblocks and delay tactics.

Hire a Car Accident Lawyer in Los Angeles, California

If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident due to the negligent, reckless, or malicious actions of another party, contact LA Lawyers Group today to receive a free case evaluation. Our experienced personal injury attorneys are dedicated to fighting for the rights of car accident victims across Southern California. Our team understands the diligence and attention to detail that’s required to maximize success in this type of case. They also have an extensive knowledge of the type of compensation that may be available to our clients depending on their unique circumstances. Our auto accident attorneys have helped injury victims recover compensation for their medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, loss of consortium, loss of quality of life, and more.

Call LA Lawyers Group at (213) LAWYERS now to receive your free consultation with our personal injury law firm.